Puppy Chow I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
You definitely have to wait for it to cool before covering in powdered sugar. My husband and I got in a hurry, and coated it while still warm, and it melt the powdered sugar, resulting in not white puppy chow. I used natural peanut butter, and I think it made the rice cereal too mushy. So I wouldn't recommend natural peanut butter. But it might have been that I bought cheap cereal. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My husband and I like to call them "Crack Babies" because they are ADDICTIVE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Delicious snack that my brothers loved. They can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was excellent. Made the recipe with a 14 oz box of Corn Chex and thought it was the perfect coating. WARNING: The powered sugar coating was messy and you need a big paper bag to do it easily and well. I probably didn't use a whole pound of confectioners' sugar, I just played it by "sight". Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this at the preschool with my twins and their classmates and the children loved it. I also had them add some mini pretzel sticks and reese's pieces to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Brown bag makes it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I add more powdered sugar at the end to make sure it's coated, but otherwise great recipe! And yummy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
My favorite trick for coating the cereal with the powdered sugar is to put the chocolate/PB coated cereal in a clean brown paper bag then pour in 1/2 lb. of powdered sugar. Close the bag and shake until everything is evenly coated. Add more powdered sugar if necessary. I also add pretzel sticks, peanuts, cashews, and sometimes dried fruit in place of some of the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
10 Stars! Fabulous!!! Easy! I added 1/2 cup more peanut butter. I made this for a daughter's b-day party. It was a pet theme. I didn't have a large bag, so I placed the coated cereal on a cookie sheet and sprinkled on one cup of powdered sugar at a time. Then I mixed it with my hands. (A spoon was too hard.) Messy hands, but got the job done :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Tastes just like I remember it tasting when I was a kid! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States