Pumpkin Yeast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
Grandkids and builing contractors both LOVE it but the fragrance tends to draw them indoors....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I made this bread yesterday and it came out wonderfully. I used fresh pumpkin puree which is sweeter than canned. I did not use a bread machine; I had no problem with it rising at all. I let it rise in the bowl for 1 hour, punched it down and put it in a bread pan, where I let it rise for another hour. It smelled yummy, is so feather light and moist! The taste is wonderful, just a hint of the pumpkin and spices, but not overwhelming. I will absolutely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYMCD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Yum, yum, yum! This was tasty. I have an overflowing amount of sweet potatoes. I subbed mashed sp with butter & honey (to make them more like a pumpkin puree). Subbed butter for the margarine. Wasn't sure what the conversion of 5/8 c water was so I used 10 T. The top caved in just a tiny bit but this seems to happen alot. I think my kids are too busy peaking. We really enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is hearty and fragrant when made with half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I also used honey in place of the brown sugar. Wonderful on it's own, ven better with pumpkin apple butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I made three mini loaves with this recipe, and they rose wonderfully. The taste was terrific too, very cinnamony. I added raisins to one of the loaves, and even though I usually don't like raisins in bread, they tasted really good in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This came out great, the only thing I changed was the margarine to butter, because we don't use margarine, and I doubled the ginger! Super easy, and worked in my machine no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
My daughter's nutritionist loved this idea. This bread with natural peanut butter and orange all fruit spread. Made it the old fashioned way - kneaded it with my own two hands and baked it in the oven. My husband and I both thought it could only get better with some homemade apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Thank You for such a wonderful recipe. My family absolutely loved it. The only thing I did differently was omitted the ginger and double the added more cinnamon and nutmeg, plus adjusted the recipe for 18 servings so I could get 2 loaves out of it. Turned out PERFECT!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I actually just used this recipe for inspiration: I had about a cup of overcooked pattypan squash that I was loathe to throw in the compost. I omitted all of the liquid in this recipe but used molasses in place of the sugar; spices included ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg and ground cloves (and I could've added more of each!). I added the raisins early (my machine, too, has a tendency to leave them in the bottom of the pan if I wait 'til the "beep") and I was expecting the mixing blade to puree them (hey, it's happened before!) but they remained intact. The bread sank ever-so-slightly but in general rose beautifully; the color and texture are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I think it generally tastes good. I didn't use bread machine, just my 2 hands. Little bland, but then again this is not a Pumpkin bread recipe, it is pumpkin bread bread that you probably would have to put some butter and jelly on it to make it tastes better like regular bread. I used extra pumpkin to make the bread more yellow, and added more flour to get the right consistency. Its a good bread recipe overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States