Pumpkin Yeast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
After finding this recipe for Pumpkin Yeast Bread I read all the reviews and decided to adjust some of the ingredients. I increased the yeast to 1 Tablespoon and added 1/8 teaspoon of cloves. The rest I followed exactly. Boy, did this come out of my bread machine beautifully. My family really loved it and wanted me to make it again. The second time also came out great. We love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Yum, yum, yum! This was tasty. I have an overflowing amount of sweet potatoes. I subbed mashed sp with butter & honey (to make them more like a pumpkin puree). Subbed butter for the margarine. Wasn't sure what the conversion of 5/8 c water was so I used 10 T. The top caved in just a tiny bit but this seems to happen alot. I think my kids are too busy peaking. We really enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I followed the directions exactly and found that this bread had very little pumpkin flavour. The bread itself came out nice and soft but just pretty much tasted like normal bread. The outer crust seemed to have a bit more flavour but it wasn't pumpkin it was the spices. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I actually just used this recipe for inspiration: I had about a cup of overcooked pattypan squash that I was loathe to throw in the compost. I omitted all of the liquid in this recipe but used molasses in place of the sugar; spices included ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg and ground cloves (and I could've added more of each!). I added the raisins early (my machine, too, has a tendency to leave them in the bottom of the pan if I wait 'til the "beep") and I was expecting the mixing blade to puree them (hey, it's happened before!) but they remained intact. The bread sank ever-so-slightly but in general rose beautifully; the color and texture are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I thought this was very good. Beware, it is acutally a bread, not cakey like banana or zuchinni bread. It's delicious when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Thank You for such a wonderful recipe. My family absolutely loved it. The only thing I did differently was omitted the ginger and double the added more cinnamon and nutmeg, plus adjusted the recipe for 18 servings so I could get 2 loaves out of it. Turned out PERFECT!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I really liked this bread, I kneaded it by hand and used rapid rise yeast and I also used pumpkin pie mix and the spices and it went well with my Thanksgiving Day meal. I want to make this again as a loaf and use it for PB and J's. I also melted my butter with the water and that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I made this bread yesterday and it came out wonderfully. I used fresh pumpkin puree which is sweeter than canned. I did not use a bread machine; I had no problem with it rising at all. I let it rise in the bowl for 1 hour, punched it down and put it in a bread pan, where I let it rise for another hour. It smelled yummy, is so feather light and moist! The taste is wonderful, just a hint of the pumpkin and spices, but not overwhelming. I will absolutely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYMCD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
My daughter's nutritionist loved this idea. This bread with natural peanut butter and orange all fruit spread. Made it the old fashioned way - kneaded it with my own two hands and baked it in the oven. My husband and I both thought it could only get better with some homemade apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
i made this the old fashioned way--no bread machine. it turned out beautifully. the color is fantastic, and the spices give it a nice taste, but no one could really tell it was pumpkin. for me, the pumpkin just gave it an interesting golden color, but not enough flavor to be recognized. it would be really great with country crock's cinnamon margarine or pumpkin spice margarine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States