Pumpkin Yeast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
So this bread rises extremely well . . .maybe too well! I bake a ton of bread, so I should know better, but I didn't pay attention . . .and well, it fell while baking, so I ended up with a very interesting shaped loaf--and not interesting in a good way! Ah, well . . .this rose too high in 30 mins, so I should've reshaped instead of just baking per usual, but the bread does taste good. Light, chewy and soft with just a hint of spice. No, not a lot of pumpkin flavor but this is a yeast bread, not a quick bread, so expect a slight, not a full pumpkin flavor in this. For those who aren't sure about the temperature of the ingredients--have everything come to room temperature before you begin and you'll be fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Yummy Bread!! I doubled the recipe and I am so glad that I did. No it is not a very "pumpkiny" bread but it does have a slight pumpkin flavor to it. The spices are very mellow. I do not have a bread machine so I made this by hand. Subbing milk for the milk powder and cutting down the water in the recipe by 1/2 cup. My family really loved this bread. I also used this to make Pumpkin Pie French toast (AR). Will definitely be making this agina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delicious! I made it in the bread machine on rapid bake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
A savory bread, it made beautiful dinner rolls last Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This bread is amazing. Let me tell you first, I got a bread machine last Christmas and after trying about 6 different recipes from scratch & had every one of them collapse, I thought I couldn't make bread. So I've only been making the box mixes since, which are very expensive and not that good. I really didn't expect this to turn out at all given my track record. That said, I did make some changes based on tips from several reviewers. I used a whole cup of pumpkin puree and reduced the water to 2 tablespoons. Also added a pinch of clove spice and 1/2 cup raisins. This bread turned out delicious! As others have said, it is a very mild flavor. So much so that I think the next time I make it, I will cut all the spices out and see if it doesn't make a good sandwich bread. I think the pumpkin is what makes it very moist, and the pumpkin flavor by itself (minus the pie spices) would probably compliment a ham or turkey sandwich quite nice. I'm so happy I found this recipe....1st successful bread loaf made from scratch. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made a few changes, and the bread came out AWESOME, one of the best I've made in my breadmaker and I make bread all the time. I upped the yeast to 1 Tablespoon based on some of the comments. I added 1 Tablespoon of vital wheat gluten because I always do (if you can get your hands on this, it will greatly improve all of your bread) and I added 3/4 cup of finely chopped pecans because I had them and it seemed like it would go really well with the flavors in the bread (it did!). The finished loaf was high, with a beautiful color, taste and texture. I served it toasted and spread with a mixture of butter and honey. OMG!! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Awesome, been making it for everyone and have rave reviews!!!! Love it! Easy, tasty and healthy ingredients too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Used this to make pumpkin bagels. Taste not very pumpkin-y. Add more pumpkin next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I thought this was great tasting - and not too heavy. I increased the spices, as suggested, to get more pumpkin taste, but other than that, followed directions exactly and it turned out maybe the best shape of any bread I've made to date. Nice rise. I agree this recipe would be great for dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Love this bread! Only changes I make (for our family's tastes) are that I change the margarine to butter (to save the trans fat), I increase the cinnamon by 1/4 tsp. and add 1/8 tsp. cloves. I also use two cups of white bread flour and one cup of wheat flour. Has a great mild flavor and nice texture. I make the dough in the bread machine and then braid the dough (like challah) and bake at 350 degrees for approx. 25 minutes. Brush with melted butter (just a little!) when it comes out of the oven. YUM! My six-year-old especially loves this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States