Pumpkin Wheat Honey Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by homschlrmom
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This has worked well for me with gluten-free brown rice flour and added xanthum gum (3/4 tsp per cup of flour for quick breads). I also used agave nectar. Just love how moist they are. My husband who expects gluten-free to be dry did not know they were! I followed the recipe amounts with fresh squash (cushaw) and I thought they were fine with that amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sunman, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Try chocolate! This muffin recipe is great with chocolate chips. Rather than the 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 nuts, I used a whole cup of chocolate chips. I never thought chocolate and pumpkin sounded good together and then I tried it at a party...yum! I came to this recipe with the specific hope of finding something I could modify for chocolate chips. :) Also, coconut oil in place of vegetable oil and maple syrup instead of honey both make great replacements. I decided to try them as they are the ingredients I keep on hand. Lastly, I've used flour and whole wheat flour. Both turn out well, just different. As would be expected, the whole wheat just has a heartier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe is very good. I love how healthy it is, and I even amped that up a little further by substituting applesauce for all of the oil, as well as flax seed for one of the eggs (which was mostly because of a shortage of eggs). Like others, I used a full cup of pumpkin, and I substituted individual spices (cinnamon 1tsp, nutmeg 3/4 tsp, cloves 1/2 tsp, allspice 1/2 tsp) instead of pumpkin spice. Finally, I used pecans instead of walnuts because they were what I had on hand. Made half of this into mini muffins, which made 24, and then 6 regular muffins. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Very tasty! No one suspected the whole wheat, and I reduced some sugar and used half applesauce half oil. omitted raisins and topped some with walnuts, some with turbinado sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I made these just as written and they were great. The cooking time was increased by 5 minutes. You would never know they were 100% whole wheat. I made a second batch subbing half of the oil with applesauce. The cooking time was spot on with that adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
These muffins are easy to make and my husband says they're delicious! I made one batch with whole wheat flour following the recipe for him. I made a second with half the sugar and used King Arthur gluten free all purpose flour for me. Being gluten intolerant I sometimes feel cheated — not this time. This is a great fall recipe, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Excellent muffin, will certainly add these to my regular baking schedule. Moist spicy deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Used fresh pumpkin and cut honey in half, and used canola oil instead of vegetable oil. still tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are really good! I made a double batch and followed the directions exactly, except that I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice on hand so I improvised with nutmeg, ground cloves, ginger, and cinnamon. The flavor is good. They do taste a little "healthy" because of the whole wheat flour, but I think that's a good thing and makes them perfect for breakfast as well as dessert. The real test will be to see what my toddler thinks of them tomorrow. If he likes them this will definitely be a keeper since I am sure they would freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I was really surprised how good these were! Very moist and tender and Yummy! I sub'ed unsweetened applesauce for the oil (Hint-I keep the snack cups of it just for baking, one cup is 1/2 cup applesauce. I added some vanilla and more cinnamon, and the extra pumpkin as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States