Pumpkin Wheat Honey Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love this recipe! I've made it as written and it was very good, but with changes suggested by other reviewers they are wonderful! I increased the amount and variety of spices, added additional pumpkin and cut back on the oil, used 1/4 cup molasses and 1/4 cup honey, and used 1/2 cup of flax meal in place of 1/2 cup of flour. I also used egg substitute. I hope there are some left when I get home from work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I took everyone's advice and added extra pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice. And I omitted the nuts because I don't like them and added a little more raisins. They were delicious and I had everything on hand! My 4 year old helped me make them and she loved them! The texture is a little different than other muffins, so I thought they weren't getting done at first but then I stuck a knife in one and it came out clean. That's when I realized they were just denser than I thought they would be, not fluffy really. But I don't mind that. I feel a lot better serving it to my kids than most muffins! I'd bet they would be really good with chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Really good!!!! I followed the recipe but used an extra large muffin pan (makes 6 muffins) and baked 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These are very good -- not overly sweet, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Made these muffins today....yummy! Skipped the raisins and used maple syrup because I did not have the honey. Also subsitituted the pumpkin pie spice with nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves. Very velvety and moist texture. I also used fresh pumpkin from the kids jack o lanterns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Changes: dried (and soaked cranberries) for raisins. 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup old fashioned oats. 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. 2 good shakes of cinnamon. 1 heaping cup pumpkin. unsweetened applesauce for all oil. 1/3 cup honey. pecans for walnuts. Filled to top of muffin cup. Had to bake for 23 minutes. Could have used another couple of minutes. Very delicious, perfect amount of sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very good! I used white whole wheat flour & omitted the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These went over very well! I replaced 1/2 c. of WW flour with 1/2 c. of wheat germ and upped the pumpkin pie spice to 2 tsps. I also omitted the raisins and walnuts (allergic). Great muffins, and easy recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was super good, I thought it was a little too sweet, I might cut back the sugar next time. I used organic honey and fresh roasted pumpkin instead of canned, and added a bit more raisins. My 4 year old ate them up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a7x-angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I made this recipe this afternoon... DELICIOUS! I added 1 cup of pumpkin as some other reviewers suggested. The only other change I made was adding mini chocolate chips instead of raisins because currently I am out of them. The muffins are super moist and flavorful. I will make this again for holiday brunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill C. Morgan Gilardi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States