Pumpkin Wheat Honey Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used a good sized cup of canned pumpkin and 2 tsp of cinnamon instead of the pie spice. I also sprinkled a tad of cinnamon sugar on top before baking. Great muffin! Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Very good! Substituted cinnamon applesauce for the oil to make them even healthier:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaddleClub09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made these as-is which I always like to do when trying and rating a recipe. The only exception is that I did not have raisins and used dried cranberries instead. My family LOVES the usual pumpkin muffins I make but these were great and a welcome change from my typical white flour-sugar pumpkin muffin recipe. They have a wonderful hearty, kind of earthy, texture using the whole wheat and I loved using the brown sugar and honey - they really added great flavor. I put the nuts on top instead of inside so they toasted. These are yummy still two days later. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFarmerJen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I made these using the substitutions recommended by other reviewers with one cup of pumpkin and using applesauce instead of oil, but found them to be overly dense and doughy (no matter how long I baked them). I will try them again as per the original recipe, since it looks so promising. There is no distinction between using regular whole wheat or whole wheat pastry flours, but I think I may try the pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
excellent cup cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Fantastic! Only alterations were substituting dried cranberries for the raisins and adding 1 full cup of pumpkin, per other reviewers' recommendations. I will most definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Works well when converting to gluten free. Just add a little apple sauce to keep the moisture. Also works well with reduced sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I hate when people review a recipe and change everything about it BUT I wanted to show everyone how easy it can be to make a recipe healthier and it still come out awesome. I didn't have a raisins but I will use them next time. However, I used regular Splenda instead of brown sugar and used half a Tablespoon of molasses, cinnamon instead of pie spice, only a Tablespoon of oil and a Tablespoon of sugar free maple syrup then followed the other parts of the recipe. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren.C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Adding a little more spice like the other reviews said is a good thing, but I loved loved loved these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Great! I doubled the recipe to use a whole can of pumpkin, changed the vegetable oil to Walnut oil, and added some nutmeg and cinnamon in addition to the pumpkin pie spice. Also, cut out half the honey and use unsweetened applesauce if you're looking to cut down on sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States