Pumpkin Wheat Honey Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very nice muffin. Not amazing but nice. Used 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. ginger and 1/4 tsp nutmeg for spice and used a cup of pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I used some of other revewer's suggestions and did these changes: doubled the recipe so I could use a whole can of pumpkin, added half a cup of apple sauce, threw in some extra nutmeg and cinnamon, didn't double the sweeteners, eliminated raisins since my kids don't like them. I also like to fill my muffin cups to the top, so I ended up with 18 mufffins and cooked them a bit longer. They are very good. I already baked them twice and will continue using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Great recipe! Here's what I did to lower calories. I made a double recipe with a cup of Splenda and a tablespoon of molasses for the brown sugar. I used two cups of pumpkin from one I grew and cooked (wetter than canned). I cut the honey in half. Used half oil and half applesauce. I only soaked half the raisins (did this by accident, don't know if it made a difference). I did all the liquid in a blender and then mixed it with the dry ingredients. Used paper cupcake cups sprayed with Pam. These turned out almost perfect for my taste (even could cut down on sweetness and be happy). The great thing about these is that they freeze great and don't dry out like some other things baked with Splenda. This worked for me....Hope it helps someone else! Craig
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I used 1 cup homemade pureed pumpkin but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, except that I had to omit the raisins and nuts so that my son could bring them to school for snack. My 5 year old loves these muffins, although his younger siblings don't seem interested. My husband and I both thought they were pretty good as well. I'll bet they are great with the raisins and nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great recipe! I also added a whole can of pumpkin, used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil and cut the honey in half. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious, light and fluffy. Wow! I did not have pumpkin pie mix, so I used cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice instead (about 3/4 tsp of each), AND I used fresh pumkin, which I blended with all the wet ingredients. I also used chocolate chips, instead. Great muffins. I will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Husband loved it. Omitted raisins, had no pumpkin pie spice so used cinnamon and nutmeg instead, 1 full can of the pumpkin puree, instead of oil used applesauce, and some oatmeal. Yummmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I think they are good as is, but my husband and I both agree that it would be a 5-star recipe if it incorporated some bran. The recipe just screams for bran to really complete it. The flavors are good--the pumpkin and honey flavors are unique and delicious together. My husband thinks the muffins are super sweet, but I think they're just sweet. Will probably look for another pumpkin recipe with bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were surprisingly good. I love sweetening w/ honey instead of sugar! It's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup or so, and substituted some buckwheat flour and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States