Pumpkin Wheat Honey Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These were great! I tripled the recipe (if I'm gonna bake, I'm gonna BAKE), using the already mentioned entire cup of pumpkin rather than 3/4 (so I used 3 cups). I substituted apple sauce for about 2/3 of the oil, left out the rainsins and walnuts, and used a lot of cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and nutmeg instead of the pumpkin pie spice. I used a little bit of oatmeal in place of some of the flour (in a single batch recipe, it probably ends up being about 1/4 cup). Not only do they taste great, but they are beautiful!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
these muffins are great! so moist and flavorful! i did not have raisins or walnuts, so i used dried cranberries and sunflower seeds instead. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These turned out great for me. I did modify it to be vegan though as I had no eggs... Omitted the raisins, lessened the brown sugar to 1/3 cup, doubled all the spices, tripled the baking powder, added a full heaping cup of pumpkin, added in 1/3 apple sauce, took down the oil (olive) to 2 table spoons, no honey, added in 1/4 molasses, no walnuts either but I added a few dark chocolate chips so the kids would like them. I baked them in my mini muffin tin and served with a red fruit salad. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I modified this recipe to be lower in carbs to fit my gestational diabetes diet. I used a whole can of pumpkin, omitted the raisins and honey, and added about 1 tsp vanilla. It doesn't satisfy the sweet tooth but it's a nice filling snack. Very forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
They were OK, not much flavor. I would add more pumpkin next time. I didn't use oil, instead I used more pumpkin, and it still wasn't the pumpkin flavor I was looking for. For simple pumpkin muffins I just use a whole can of pumpkin and a box of spice cake and mix it together and that's it! I will just stick to my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksvona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These are the BEST muffins I have ever made. I'd been looking for a good whole wheat flour recipe to make a healthier muffin, and this recipe is wonderful. I used about 1/4-1/2 t each of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger instead of pumpkin pie spice. I used more pumpkin puree, about 8 oz. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and replace half the oil with applesauce. A couple days later, the muffins are still so moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Family approved! A very heavy muffin b/c of the whole wheat. Definitely not for dessert after dinner, but a filling breakfast on it's own. Add milk/juice & you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Wonderful moist muffin! Not too sweet. Just right for breakfast. I made some changes because I was feeding them to my 1 year old - omitted the honey, substituted 10 drops of liquid stevia and 1/4 c. whole milk. Also omitted one egg (I was out) and the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
DELICIOUS. Super-easy to make and moist. This replaced my other pumpkin muffin recipe. DEFINITELY a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I thought these muffins were wonderful! I used half honey and half mollasses andhalf the oil and added applesauce. and i added some flax seed. YUMMY and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States