Pumpkin Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I used brown sugar instead of white and pecans because it is what I had on hand. I baked it for 15 minutes longer than called for and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Delicious, as always. I've made this several times. Usually with Yellow cake mix, but i've used White and Vanilla and it's been about the same each time--always a hit! I usually don't invert it, but it's great either way. And definitely even better with a dollop of whipping cream. Also, i mix about 3/4 cup of the cake mix into the pumpkin mixture--I think it gets rid of that mushy texture the pumpkin otherwise tends to have. I made half with pecans (was out of walnuts) and half with no nuts. Everyone agreed it was much better with the nuts. I used 4 tsp of Pumpkin Pie seasoning, and it wasn't too much...could have even used more. and i only used 6 tbsp of butter-it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made this for thanksgiving and everyone had to have a piece of it. I had only two slices left. I had also made two pies, a cake and a cheese cake....for 18 people...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Wow, I just made this for a potluck and sneeked a bite out of the corner. Wonderful. I did not use 7/8 cup of margarine as the recipe called for but only used 7/8 stick (7 Tbs) of margarine. It worked out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Super easy to make! Delicious, but I think mine needed to bake longer being that's it was a little squishy at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is an awesome cake. Nice flavour. Followed some of the advice on the reviews and turned out great. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snuggles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Breslau, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
NOT for bake sales (too soupy), so I'm having to keep this for myself (oh, poor me!) I mixed some of the cake mix in with the pumpkin, baked it longer than specified and it still wasn't of a consistency that could be cut into bars. I used pecans and it worked well, although I'm sure walnuts would be great. Will definitely pull this out at thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I have made this cake several times for different occasions including Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, and a friends welcome home party. Everyone always raves over it and asks for the recipe. I have found, however, that if you add about 1/3 the dry cake mix to the pumpkin mixture it comes out a little better. Other than that, the taste is amazing! My friends and family were super excited to have something other than pumpkin pie for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loganton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This cake is amazing! The pumpkin part is the consistency of a pumpkin pie with the amazing cookie/butter nut-type crunch on the top. I have received rave reviews at parties and my husband requests this dessert year round. I am 8 months pregnant and have been craving it, so I'm making it today in JULY! It will make you think of Fall with each bite. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
super good! i melted 1 stick of butter to put on top and i ended up with powdery cake mix still on top. i'm not sure how to eliminate that because i tried more butter. it is delicious anyway, so it still gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States