Pumpkin Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Delicious, as always. I've made this several times. Usually with Yellow cake mix, but i've used White and Vanilla and it's been about the same each time--always a hit! I usually don't invert it, but it's great either way. And definitely even better with a dollop of whipping cream. Also, i mix about 3/4 cup of the cake mix into the pumpkin mixture--I think it gets rid of that mushy texture the pumpkin otherwise tends to have. I made half with pecans (was out of walnuts) and half with no nuts. Everyone agreed it was much better with the nuts. I used 4 tsp of Pumpkin Pie seasoning, and it wasn't too much...could have even used more. and i only used 6 tbsp of butter-it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I used brown sugar instead of white and pecans because it is what I had on hand. I baked it for 15 minutes longer than called for and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I made this recipe exactly as stated. The flavor was delicious but the cake was somewhat wet and mushy. What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Super easy to make! Delicious, but I think mine needed to bake longer being that's it was a little squishy at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Wow, I just made this for a potluck and sneeked a bite out of the corner. Wonderful. I did not use 7/8 cup of margarine as the recipe called for but only used 7/8 stick (7 Tbs) of margarine. It worked out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Yum! Outstanding dessert and I loved the use of the walnuts. I wouldn't changed anything about this dessert at all. The baking time was right on for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is the BEST holiday cake ever!! I doubled the ingredients and baked it in a huge roaster-sized pan, and it turned out beautifully! I took it to our large Christmas gathering of family & friends, and everyone raved and demanded some to leave with. Simply divine and so easy. This is my new "traditional" dessert for the holidays from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
Very good... I used pecans instead of walnuts which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaley
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
12/10 its definitely even better with a dollop of whipping cream. Also, i mix about 3/4 cup of the cake mix into the pumpkin mixture--I think it gets rid of that mushy texture the pumpkin otherwise tends to have. added pecans on top, yummy. matthew didn't like it but everyone else did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
super good! i melted 1 stick of butter to put on top and i ended up with powdery cake mix still on top. i'm not sure how to eliminate that because i tried more butter. it is delicious anyway, so it still gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States