Pumpkin Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Delicious, as always. I've made this several times. Usually with Yellow cake mix, but i've used White and Vanilla and it's been about the same each time--always a hit! I usually don't invert it, but it's great either way. And definitely even better with a dollop of whipping cream. Also, i mix about 3/4 cup of the cake mix into the pumpkin mixture--I think it gets rid of that mushy texture the pumpkin otherwise tends to have. I made half with pecans (was out of walnuts) and half with no nuts. Everyone agreed it was much better with the nuts. I used 4 tsp of Pumpkin Pie seasoning, and it wasn't too much...could have even used more. and i only used 6 tbsp of butter-it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I used brown sugar instead of white and pecans because it is what I had on hand. I baked it for 15 minutes longer than called for and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Super easy to make! Delicious, but I think mine needed to bake longer being that's it was a little squishy at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Wow, I just made this for a potluck and sneeked a bite out of the corner. Wonderful. I did not use 7/8 cup of margarine as the recipe called for but only used 7/8 stick (7 Tbs) of margarine. It worked out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made this for thanksgiving and everyone had to have a piece of it. I had only two slices left. I had also made two pies, a cake and a cheese cake....for 18 people...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I made this recipe exactly as stated. The flavor was delicious but the cake was somewhat wet and mushy. What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I am asked to make this cake every Thanksgiving for my brother. It is very simple to make and it turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is the BEST holiday cake ever!! I doubled the ingredients and baked it in a huge roaster-sized pan, and it turned out beautifully! I took it to our large Christmas gathering of family & friends, and everyone raved and demanded some to leave with. Simply divine and so easy. This is my new "traditional" dessert for the holidays from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
An excellent recipe - simple yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATINEEIDOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Not only was this easy to make it is the best cake/pie ever. Perfect for a Food Fest at work. Still good without the nuts if you have a nut alergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States