Pumpkin Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is an awesome cake. Nice flavour. Followed some of the advice on the reviews and turned out great. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snuggles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Breslau, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Delicious, as always. I've made this several times. Usually with Yellow cake mix, but i've used White and Vanilla and it's been about the same each time--always a hit! I usually don't invert it, but it's great either way. And definitely even better with a dollop of whipping cream. Also, i mix about 3/4 cup of the cake mix into the pumpkin mixture--I think it gets rid of that mushy texture the pumpkin otherwise tends to have. I made half with pecans (was out of walnuts) and half with no nuts. Everyone agreed it was much better with the nuts. I used 4 tsp of Pumpkin Pie seasoning, and it wasn't too much...could have even used more. and i only used 6 tbsp of butter-it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I used brown sugar instead of white and pecans because it is what I had on hand. I baked it for 15 minutes longer than called for and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Super easy to make! Delicious, but I think mine needed to bake longer being that's it was a little squishy at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Wow, I just made this for a potluck and sneeked a bite out of the corner. Wonderful. I did not use 7/8 cup of margarine as the recipe called for but only used 7/8 stick (7 Tbs) of margarine. It worked out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made this for thanksgiving and everyone had to have a piece of it. I had only two slices left. I had also made two pies, a cake and a cheese cake....for 18 people...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I made this recipe exactly as stated. The flavor was delicious but the cake was somewhat wet and mushy. What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I am asked to make this cake every Thanksgiving for my brother. It is very simple to make and it turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is the BEST holiday cake ever!! I doubled the ingredients and baked it in a huge roaster-sized pan, and it turned out beautifully! I took it to our large Christmas gathering of family & friends, and everyone raved and demanded some to leave with. Simply divine and so easy. This is my new "traditional" dessert for the holidays from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
An excellent recipe - simple yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATINEEIDOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States