Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I loved this recipe with a few time saving modifications. I used Bisquick instead of flour & baking powder. I also used about twice as much cinnamon as it called for because we really like it and left out the ginger because I didn't have any. I also skipped the the syrup because I forgot to buy apple cider. They were delicious with regular syrup. Next time I'll probably add more brown sugar because not quite sweet enough for me. Otherwise a great recipe! I'll probably make on Thanksgiving morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Love the syrup! But I felt the waffles were pretty dense. I have a belgin waffle maker and they took a bit longer to cook vs. regular waffles...so don't take them out until the top is getting browned and crip. I followed the recipe to the T and they were pretty good...I might add more sugar if I plan on having the waffles without the cider syrup, but together they are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by egassner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was awesome. I couldn't make them fast enough to keep my kids happy. My 5 year old said they were the best food he's ever had. The syrup is very powerful so you only have to use a little bit which helps cut out a lot of sugar we normally have on waffle mornings. The kids asked if we could have this every morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made a few changes this time from the 1st couple of times I've made them. I used 1 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of clove in place of only 1tsp of allspice and a hair more pumpkin. It's really important that you whip your egg whites long enough so they do have peaks and fold in gently so the batter will start to get light and fluffy/airy feeling you'll see it start to change, othewise they are too dense and will sit in your stomach like a rock. I found too they do need to cook longer than regular waffles, but also try a little higher heat setting if yours adjusts like mine, normally set at a 3.5, put up to a solid 4 and worked much better. For the apple cider syrup I use water and fresh cut up apples instead, less white sugar, add brown sugar and nutmeg. Delish! Have also made apples w/ less sugar and then just drizzled real maple syrup over waffles and apples before serving. That also got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I just made the syrup- I'm sure the waffles are amazing, but I made pumpkin pancakes and heard of apple cider syrup so I wanted to give it a go. I forgot to add the butter at the end, but didn't miss it! Amazing, easy, for the people that didn't make the syrup- just try it. Its worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Even my vegetable hating son loves these waffles! I agree with the previous reviewer that they should be cooked just a little longer than regular waffles. They also freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I just made the Apple Cider Syrup and it was AMAZING! A perfect compliment to the pumpkin. My husband LOVED it, and wanted me to make an entire jug of the syrup so he can have it on a daily basis on his morning waffles. Just make sure you boil it long enough in order to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Awsome!One of the best things I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
All four of my kids LOVED these! I did add more brown sugar than called for (about 1/2 c + 2 TBSP) and we used regular pancake syrup. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Didn't use nuts or make syrup. They were good, very different. Think next time I'll add some chopped apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States