Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I loved this recipe with a few time saving modifications. I used Bisquick instead of flour & baking powder. I also used about twice as much cinnamon as it called for because we really like it and left out the ginger because I didn't have any. I also skipped the the syrup because I forgot to buy apple cider. They were delicious with regular syrup. Next time I'll probably add more brown sugar because not quite sweet enough for me. Otherwise a great recipe! I'll probably make on Thanksgiving morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kovee Moore Schutt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Love the syrup! But I felt the waffles were pretty dense. I have a belgin waffle maker and they took a bit longer to cook vs. regular waffles...so don't take them out until the top is getting browned and crip. I followed the recipe to the T and they were pretty good...I might add more sugar if I plan on having the waffles without the cider syrup, but together they are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by egassner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was awesome. I couldn't make them fast enough to keep my kids happy. My 5 year old said they were the best food he's ever had. The syrup is very powerful so you only have to use a little bit which helps cut out a lot of sugar we normally have on waffle mornings. The kids asked if we could have this every morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made a few changes this time from the 1st couple of times I've made them. I used 1 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of clove in place of only 1tsp of allspice and a hair more pumpkin. It's really important that you whip your egg whites long enough so they do have peaks and fold in gently so the batter will start to get light and fluffy/airy feeling you'll see it start to change, othewise they are too dense and will sit in your stomach like a rock. I found too they do need to cook longer than regular waffles, but also try a little higher heat setting if yours adjusts like mine, normally set at a 3.5, put up to a solid 4 and worked much better. For the apple cider syrup I use water and fresh cut up apples instead, less white sugar, add brown sugar and nutmeg. Delish! Have also made apples w/ less sugar and then just drizzled real maple syrup over waffles and apples before serving. That also got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I just made the syrup- I'm sure the waffles are amazing, but I made pumpkin pancakes and heard of apple cider syrup so I wanted to give it a go. I forgot to add the butter at the end, but didn't miss it! Amazing, easy, for the people that didn't make the syrup- just try it. Its worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Even my vegetable hating son loves these waffles! I agree with the previous reviewer that they should be cooked just a little longer than regular waffles. They also freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I just made the Apple Cider Syrup and it was AMAZING! A perfect compliment to the pumpkin. My husband LOVED it, and wanted me to make an entire jug of the syrup so he can have it on a daily basis on his morning waffles. Just make sure you boil it long enough in order to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Awsome!One of the best things I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Original review- October 2011: Thank you Jeanette for an incredibly delicious waffle recipe. We altered the recipe to suit our toddlers' taste: instead of whole milk we substituted 2 cups of whole milk and 2 T of white vinegar (allow to sit for 10 minutes, it's a buttermilk alternative). We used 1 T cinnamon and 1 T pumpkin spice for the spices. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, we used 1 C whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups all-purpose. The next time we make these, we'll substitute white whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. These came out fluffy, moist and slightly sweet. These made 10 Belgium waffles, we froze the left-overs and will have a quick treat another day. Thank you again Jeanette. Update- March 2013: We are still making these, in fact they are our go to Belgium waffle batter. We sometimes use pureed roasted sweet potato (and if the puree is a little less than 1 cup, we add a mashed banana to make up the difference). Today our big change was using sweetened vanilla almond milk instead of regular milk- it made it a little more moist, but delicious! Thank you again Jeanette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
All four of my kids LOVED these! I did add more brown sugar than called for (about 1/2 c + 2 TBSP) and we used regular pancake syrup. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States