Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great waffles, not too dense... just right! Syrup is excellent, but you need to at least double the syrup recipe. Some in family thought that the syrup could use less sugar, as it is very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
REVIEW ON APPLE CIDER SYRUP ONLY: I have no clue where I put my waffle maker so decided to just make the syrup with the 'Pumpkin Pancakes' recipe here on allrecipes. (also a great recipe) and it was GREAT. At first I thought the Apple Cider overpowered the sugar and it was too tart but after I added the butter it's just perfect! Only change I made was added a PINCH of nutmeg although I'm sure that made little difference. DO NOT leave this stuff on the stove to boil unattended because mine was thick enough for use almost immediately after it started to boil (Maybe 1 minute TOPS of boiling) and make sure to follow instructions and add the cornstarch in with the other dry ingredients, otherwise you will probably have clumps of cornstarch in your finished product and it probably wont thicken as well. Next time I will probably try adding thin chunks of fresh apple. GREAT SYRUP RECIPE. TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Followed recipe as written. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very good! flavorful and definitely not dense. My kids (and I) ate a ton of them! I gave them one big waffle with syrup and then they kept getting more and eating them plain! Which for my syrup loving kids is saying a lot! I didn't make the syrup but will definitely make it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this recipe this morning for a special fall breakfast despite the Indian summer we've been having. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. I didn't have allspice so I substituted 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. clove, 1/4 t. nutmeg. Make sure to melt the butter in a separate bowl. I tried to skip dirtying another bowl & melted the butter in the large bowl then added the pumpkin, egg yolks & milk but the butter hardened up from the cold milk. I recommend using an electric hand mixer for the egg whites, a lot easier than using a whisk. This was really, really good but a lot of work & a lot of cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
HUGE hit! I didn't make the syrup, but the waffles are amazing. My toddler loves them, and I like that there's a bit of nutrition in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Original review- October 2011: Thank you Jeanette for an incredibly delicious waffle recipe. We altered the recipe to suit our toddlers' taste: instead of whole milk we substituted 2 cups of whole milk and 2 T of white vinegar (allow to sit for 10 minutes, it's a buttermilk alternative). We used 1 T cinnamon and 1 T pumpkin spice for the spices. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, we used 1 C whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups all-purpose. The next time we make these, we'll substitute white whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. These came out fluffy, moist and slightly sweet. These made 10 Belgium waffles, we froze the left-overs and will have a quick treat another day. Thank you again Jeanette. Update- March 2013: We are still making these, in fact they are our go to Belgium waffle batter. We sometimes use pureed roasted sweet potato (and if the puree is a little less than 1 cup, we add a mashed banana to make up the difference). Today our big change was using sweetened vanilla almond milk instead of regular milk- it made it a little more moist, but delicious! Thank you again Jeanette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious recipe. The waffles were a little too cakey for me even still, it was still plenty goo to satisfy my pumpkin craving. I didn't like having to use so many different bowls to make these waffles. LOTS of dishes for first thing in the morning. The syrup is AMAZING! I'll make it again to go with my regular waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These were good but not the best. My 3 year old loved the waffles, she ate at least 2 whole ones. Husband thought the syrup was note worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Excellent! I haven't made the syrup yet but the waffles are to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States