Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
The girls loved it!!!!!! What a great way to start off fall making these for the kids in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was awesome! I added about 3 tbsp extra pumpkin, one apple finely chopped, and about 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. I also reduced ginger and allspice to 1/2 tsp. each. My entire family gobbled it up, even the picky 3 yr old. Lots of leftovers for freezing, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is delicious, I added 1 tsp nutmeg to the spice mix, 1/4 cup white sugar to the dry ingredients and 1 tsp vanilla to the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These were great! Made a few changes..added 2 TB sugar and 1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg to batter. Then to syrup added 1 TB Myers dark rum and 1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg. Also used boiled cider (1 TB per 3/4 cup as per KAF site). Concentrated flavor was excellent! Had to double syrup. One recipe was not enough for 10 large Belgium waffles the batter made in my All Clad waffle maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
The syrup was awesome and will be a new fall staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These are amazing! The apple cider syrup is what makes it for me. I love to make extra for regular pancakes later on. I have made this recipe for a long time, but was looking for a recipe that didn't require egg white beating, to save time. Couldn't find a better recipe, and today it occurred to me why. Adding pumpkin makes for a dense waffle, so you need to add the whipped egg whites to counteract that. That's what makes this recipe perfect. Also, if you want this waffle to taste more like pumpkin pie on its own, just add more sugar. The purpose of making them like this is that you are planning on pouring syrup all over them, so you don't want them to be overly-sweet to begin with. Love these, crave these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great! I used a can of pumpkin puree and a can of evaporated milk...no butter. Turned out perfect. Doubled in cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Tasty and unique! The apple cider syrup was amazing, although I might cut the sugar next time as it was too sweet for my taste. And it thickened so quickly! I was less impressed by the waffles; the pumpkin flavor didn't really come through. Mine were a little dense (probably I didn't whip the egg whites enough) and didn't crisp up even though I left them in longer than normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very good- tastes like airy pumpkin bread! I didn't do the Apple Cider because I didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe made nine 6" Belgian waffles. I liked the waffles and I liked the syrup, but I'm not sure I'd serve both of them together again. If you're planning to serve all of the waffles, you will not have enough syrup. This apple cider syrup is seriously good, but by the time that it cooks down to a serving consistency, it has reduced quite a bit in volume. Do yourself a favor and double the syrup recipe because it's worth the effort, just delicious. The waffles have a nice blend of spices with a subtle hint of pumpkin, but when served with the apple cider syrup, it just overwhelms the pumpkin flavor. In the future, I will serve the pumpkin waffles with maple syrup and serve the apple cider syrup with "regular" pancakes, waffles, or french toast. One additional comment. This is a fairly time-consuming recipe, so get prepared and start with a clean kitchen. Trust me, you'll have a kitchen full of dirty dishes once you've made this. Start the syrup first because it takes some time to cook down. Then just keep it warm until your waffles are ready to go on the table. None of these comments are meant to be negative because IMO, this is a very special meal, but it's also a lot of work. Most likely for me, it's one that will be served mostly for special occasions. Thanks Jeanette for developing this outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States