Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this recipe this morning for a special fall breakfast despite the Indian summer we've been having. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. I didn't have allspice so I substituted 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. clove, 1/4 t. nutmeg. Make sure to melt the butter in a separate bowl. I tried to skip dirtying another bowl & melted the butter in the large bowl then added the pumpkin, egg yolks & milk but the butter hardened up from the cold milk. I recommend using an electric hand mixer for the egg whites, a lot easier than using a whisk. This was really, really good but a lot of work & a lot of cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
HUGE hit! I didn't make the syrup, but the waffles are amazing. My toddler loves them, and I like that there's a bit of nutrition in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Original review- October 2011: Thank you Jeanette for an incredibly delicious waffle recipe. We altered the recipe to suit our toddlers' taste: instead of whole milk we substituted 2 cups of whole milk and 2 T of white vinegar (allow to sit for 10 minutes, it's a buttermilk alternative). We used 1 T cinnamon and 1 T pumpkin spice for the spices. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, we used 1 C whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups all-purpose. The next time we make these, we'll substitute white whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. These came out fluffy, moist and slightly sweet. These made 10 Belgium waffles, we froze the left-overs and will have a quick treat another day. Thank you again Jeanette. Update- March 2013: We are still making these, in fact they are our go to Belgium waffle batter. We sometimes use pureed roasted sweet potato (and if the puree is a little less than 1 cup, we add a mashed banana to make up the difference). Today our big change was using sweetened vanilla almond milk instead of regular milk- it made it a little more moist, but delicious! Thank you again Jeanette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious recipe. The waffles were a little too cakey for me even still, it was still plenty goo to satisfy my pumpkin craving. I didn't like having to use so many different bowls to make these waffles. LOTS of dishes for first thing in the morning. The syrup is AMAZING! I'll make it again to go with my regular waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These were good but not the best. My 3 year old loved the waffles, she ate at least 2 whole ones. Husband thought the syrup was note worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Excellent! I haven't made the syrup yet but the waffles are to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This review is only for the waffles, as i didn't attempt the cider syrup. I really enjoyed these waffles. I adjusted the spices to our tastes (mild) so i just used a dash of allspice and no ginger. I also added a T or 2 of extra sugar. Others had said theirs turned out mushy, but i cooked mine till they were extra crisp and i didn't have a problem with the texture being soggy. My toddler gobbled them up. I served with homemade vanilla syrup and chopped walnuts. Will keep on hand for the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made these waffles for brunch over the weekend and agree that the waffle itself is lacking a little something. It really is not that pumpkin-y. I did make the syrup to go with it and everyone seemed to enjoy them so I will make them again but will definitely try to up the flavour somehow. Also, if you're using a Cusinart waffle iron, I found that setting it on 4 was perfect (5 left them burned). If you're planning to make and reheat/toast later, I would cook them at a 3.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I was looking for a pumpkin waffle recipe and chose this one because it used so many eggs. I used freshly ground flour and only 2 T rapadura instead of the brown sugar. I do wish they had more pumpkin - I will probably try to add more next time - but they did turn out nice and light and the spices were good but not overwhelming. I did not make the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Super yummy!!! I first had these at a friends house and now I can't get enough! I love the flavor combination...and really anything with pumpkin. ;D Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States