Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Made this for breakfast - the waffles were yummy but the Apple Cider Syrup was phenomenal! I had some Spiced Apple Cider from Trader Joes in the fridge which already had cinnamon and lemon juice in it, so I omitted those. You don't get a ton of syrup and at first I thought there was no way that amount of syrup would serve all of us - but a little goes a long way and it definitely did. My kids devoured it as did my hubby and I. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow.... So much flavor...... I added apple cider to the batter just to thin it out a little... So good... will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leonard, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made a few changes this time from the 1st couple of times I've made them. I used 1 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of clove in place of only 1tsp of allspice and a hair more pumpkin. It's really important that you whip your egg whites long enough so they do have peaks and fold in gently so the batter will start to get light and fluffy/airy feeling you'll see it start to change, othewise they are too dense and will sit in your stomach like a rock. I found too they do need to cook longer than regular waffles, but also try a little higher heat setting if yours adjusts like mine, normally set at a 3.5, put up to a solid 4 and worked much better. For the apple cider syrup I use water and fresh cut up apples instead, less white sugar, add brown sugar and nutmeg. Delish! Have also made apples w/ less sugar and then just drizzled real maple syrup over waffles and apples before serving. That also got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Rating the Apple Cider Syrup only: I made the syrup to go with pumpkin pancakes and it was excellent! A nice change from maple syrup. It looked good and thick even before I added the butter - I might even try leaving out the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by FoodHippie
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
These had excellent flavor but the batter was more like dough (very thick) and they were a bit dry. Next time I'll add a cup or so of applesauce to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I am rating only the Apple Cider Syrup! So good and so simple to make. I made Pumpkin Pancakes from this site as I wanted pancakes instead of waffles. Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Oh my gosh!!!!! These pumpkin waffles are excellent.! I did not make the apple cider syrup but instead used read maple syrup. I made the recipe as is, except I added chopped pecans! DELICIOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Double apple cider syrup. Makes 5 waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I haven't tried making the syrup but this recipe makes a very nicely flavored pumpkin waffle. My 3yr old asks for them often! They are a dense waffle. They need to cook a little longer than plain waffles for the outside to become crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Yummy! This was great. It made 8 good size waffles in my belgian iron. When I got to the melted butter part I realized I was out of butter and they were still scrumptious. So, if you are trying to cut the calories a bit just leave it out! No one was the wiser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States