Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great recipe! After wisking dry ingredients, I just dumped the wet ingredients in, and wisked until mixed in ( I didn't separate eggs, just wisked them together before I added them). Excellent texture. The syrup was the star though. You can use apple juice. Gonna try it on vanilla ice cream next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I am reviewing the apple cider syrup only. It is fantastic!! Served it with pumpkin pancakes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I have 1.36L of Apple Cider leftover from an apple festival which I didn't know what to do. The Apple Cider syrup in this recipe is delicious! I have doubled the recipe and it worked great. I may make the rest of the liter to this syrup. Awesome for pancakes, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
First of all, your house smells wonderful while you are fixing these! My batter was too thin so I had to add some flour and my syrup was to thick so I had to add more cider. The syrup was a little stringy so I may have cooked to long. The waffles were very cake like, not like a usually waffle, but they were very tasty. I will make again and possibly will give it 5 stars next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These are excellent. I did use half white, half oatmeal flour. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
The syrup is incredible! 5 stars. The waffles were very, very good! 4 stars. Add a bit of ground nuts to make them a 5! Make sure to "thin" the batter out a bit, it is too thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Made this for breakfast - the waffles were yummy but the Apple Cider Syrup was phenomenal! I had some Spiced Apple Cider from Trader Joes in the fridge which already had cinnamon and lemon juice in it, so I omitted those. You don't get a ton of syrup and at first I thought there was no way that amount of syrup would serve all of us - but a little goes a long way and it definitely did. My kids devoured it as did my hubby and I. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow.... So much flavor...... I added apple cider to the batter just to thin it out a little... So good... will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leonard, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made a few changes this time from the 1st couple of times I've made them. I used 1 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of clove in place of only 1tsp of allspice and a hair more pumpkin. It's really important that you whip your egg whites long enough so they do have peaks and fold in gently so the batter will start to get light and fluffy/airy feeling you'll see it start to change, othewise they are too dense and will sit in your stomach like a rock. I found too they do need to cook longer than regular waffles, but also try a little higher heat setting if yours adjusts like mine, normally set at a 3.5, put up to a solid 4 and worked much better. For the apple cider syrup I use water and fresh cut up apples instead, less white sugar, add brown sugar and nutmeg. Delish! Have also made apples w/ less sugar and then just drizzled real maple syrup over waffles and apples before serving. That also got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Rating the Apple Cider Syrup only: I made the syrup to go with pumpkin pancakes and it was excellent! A nice change from maple syrup. It looked good and thick even before I added the butter - I might even try leaving out the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States