Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These are amazing! The apple cider syrup is what makes it for me. I love to make extra for regular pancakes later on. I have made this recipe for a long time, but was looking for a recipe that didn't require egg white beating, to save time. Couldn't find a better recipe, and today it occurred to me why. Adding pumpkin makes for a dense waffle, so you need to add the whipped egg whites to counteract that. That's what makes this recipe perfect. Also, if you want this waffle to taste more like pumpkin pie on its own, just add more sugar. The purpose of making them like this is that you are planning on pouring syrup all over them, so you don't want them to be overly-sweet to begin with. Love these, crave these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great! I used a can of pumpkin puree and a can of evaporated milk...no butter. Turned out perfect. Doubled in cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Tasty and unique! The apple cider syrup was amazing, although I might cut the sugar next time as it was too sweet for my taste. And it thickened so quickly! I was less impressed by the waffles; the pumpkin flavor didn't really come through. Mine were a little dense (probably I didn't whip the egg whites enough) and didn't crisp up even though I left them in longer than normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very good- tastes like airy pumpkin bread! I didn't do the Apple Cider because I didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe made nine 6" Belgian waffles. I liked the waffles and I liked the syrup, but I'm not sure I'd serve both of them together again. If you're planning to serve all of the waffles, you will not have enough syrup. This apple cider syrup is seriously good, but by the time that it cooks down to a serving consistency, it has reduced quite a bit in volume. Do yourself a favor and double the syrup recipe because it's worth the effort, just delicious. The waffles have a nice blend of spices with a subtle hint of pumpkin, but when served with the apple cider syrup, it just overwhelms the pumpkin flavor. In the future, I will serve the pumpkin waffles with maple syrup and serve the apple cider syrup with "regular" pancakes, waffles, or french toast. One additional comment. This is a fairly time-consuming recipe, so get prepared and start with a clean kitchen. Trust me, you'll have a kitchen full of dirty dishes once you've made this. Start the syrup first because it takes some time to cook down. Then just keep it warm until your waffles are ready to go on the table. None of these comments are meant to be negative because IMO, this is a very special meal, but it's also a lot of work. Most likely for me, it's one that will be served mostly for special occasions. Thanks Jeanette for developing this outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I used half whole wheat flour and added a little flax. The waffles had a good texture but they were pretty bland. I didn't make the cider syrup so maybe that was where all of the flavor was supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
So delicious! I had to make substitutions because of missing ingredients. I used 2 ts of pumpkin pie spice instead of allspice half n half instead of milk and white sugar. And I only had apple juice but I can't wait to try apple cider in it. The waffles were good but as a pair this was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I thought this was a great recipe. My only recommendation is to decrease the amount of apple cider. It overpowered the entire meal! Next time I make this I will try only half of the apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I used a different pumpkin waffle recipe but this syrup and it was really good! we thought it was better when it cooled a little as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I disagree that these were dense. If you beat the egg whites into soft peaks and fold in correctly, they turn out fluffy and moist! I wasn't planning on making the syrup but found out we didn't have any so I substituted the apple cider with orange juice and made it anyway. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelseyryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States