Pumpkin Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I had such high hopes for this recipe but it proved to be too sweet for my tastes, which is really saying something! The first bite or two was wonderful but was too much after a big meal (that's a lot of butter). I might try it again with some modifications but would probably include it with lunch offerings, where the richness of the dessert stands out as a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I make this when we want something sweet to eat but have little in the pantry to work with. Dosen't everyone always have a box of cake mix and a can of pumpkin? I don't use a full tablespoon myself, just about a teaspoon or so. I also add a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract to the "filling". You can get by cutting the sugar back or using a reduced sugar/sugar free cake mix and fat free evaporated milk. It's like cheater pumpkin cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Family loved this. Would do nothing different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Yummy! Like a pumpkin pie crisp! I added chopped walnuts on top and they were a good addition. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so used 2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp ea. nutmeg, allspice, cloves and ginger as I do in my pumpkin pie filling. We may have this for Thanksgiving instead of pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is so good! I made it exactly as written except I added some cinnamon & vanilla to the pumpkin mixture and after I drizzled the butter on, I sprinkled about a cup of walnuts on. After this was cooked, I let it sit in fridge for about an hour and a half. Then I flipped it into a plastic 13x9 container w/ a lid and covered it and put back in fridge. Huge hit at the potluck! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Not quite as good as the one I first tasted at a brunch. It had a little salty flavor to it. I will try again using unsalted butter - I hope that will make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Though I'm still a fan of traditional pie on Thanksgiving and Christmas days, I thought this recipe was delicious and will make it again! If you're serving a crowd, this can definitely go farther for less effort than traditional pie. In an effort to increase the nutrition factor by just a little bit, I cut the white sugar to 3/4 c. and I thought it was plenty sweet enough since the cake mix and butter layer is pretty sweet on its own. I think next time I'll even omit a tablespoon or two of butter and my guess is I'll not notice the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this for a pot-luck at lunch today. It was awesome! Everyone asked for the recipe. I did make a few minor changes. I used a butter cake mix and sprinkled 1 cup of chopped pecans over the top before drizzling butter. Perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made this with my 5yr old grandson. He thoroughly enjoyed making this easy dessert. The only thing I added was one teaspoon of vanilla and a little more spices. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I had to make my own. The entire pan was gone so fast I didn't get but a small taste myself. Everyone really liked the crunchy cake mix texture opposed to the custard texture of the pumpkin. It's a Keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rm2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States