Pumpkin Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was pretty good - very moist but a little too orangey for me...but that is a personal choice. I used 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and the juice of a navel orange, which was way more than a 1/4 cup, didn't measure for exactness. Might have helped it to be more like a traditional pumpkin bread should be. I did use fresh pumpkin, which is way better than canned! Omitted the nuts and did everything else the same. Took 65-70 minutes for the center to be completely done, but got dark fast, so put foil on the top for the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is a delicious fall treat. Changes were made based on other reviews including using 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, increasing the amount of cinnamon to 1 tsp and using nutmeg (1/2 tsp.) instead of cloves. I also added 1/4 tsp of ginger. When I took the loaf to a luncheon, everyone enjoyed it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Really good. I left out walnuts & dates but put in cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Great recipe. Very moist. It had more of a citrus taste than a pumpkin taste, however, so if you're looking for a bread with a stronger pumpkin flavor, this may not be for you. Regardless, this is a very flavorful, soft, moist bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommakg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made these pretty much by the recipe - left out dates and nuts due to family preferences. I will be having a brunch for a large crowd soon, so I made these in miniature muffin pans. Recipe made 6 dozen mini muffins that were melt-in-your-mouth delicious. I did combine 2 tablespoons of butter, 1/3 C sugar, a teaspoon of orange zest, and 1/4 C fresh orange juice. When muffins came out of the oven, I dipped the tops in this; it made a really nice glaze. I will definitely be baking these again very soon and using them for that brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
To our taste buds this is one of the best sweet tea breads on Allrecipes because we never really cared for the oil based ones. As is usual I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup and the fruit and nuts can be varied to suit tastes without spoiling a wonderful bread. Thanks for a great contribution to my files....bulging files!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Good, maybe a little less cloves would be better, it over powers the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Segundo, California, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very nice tea bread. I like my pumpkin bread a little spicier so I increased the cinnamon amt. to 1 tsp. and added 1/4 tsp. each of ground ginger and ground nutmeg. I also used half white & half light brown sugar. Instead of dates I used orange-flavored dried cranberries and skipped the grated orange zest. I was out of O.J. so I sustituted with 1/4 cup low fat milk. The bread took about 1 hr. 10 min. to bake. Served with whipped cream cheese. Will make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This recipe is really good. I made some changes. Ended up using whole wheat flour instead of regular. And didn't use quite as much sugar - 3/4 cup white and 1/2 cup brown. Added just the orange juice (fresh squeezed) but not the zest. Finally, I added 1/2 cup flaked coconut instead of the dates and walnuts. Also added a teaspoon of vanilla and a touch of ginger. Yummy! Works well as muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
While I love the combination of orange and pumpkin this bread was not moist enough for me. The taste like I said is so good but its just too dense, nothing like the moist pumpkin breads I am used to. If I was to make this again I would have to think of adding more liquid. Glad I made it but would not make the recipe again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States