Pumpkin Tart With Pecan Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
ok so i wanted to make a pumpkin pie for me and my boyfriend but i didnt have any evaporated milk on hand (just about every pumpkin pie recipe calls for this). so i decided to look up a non dairy recipe and i got this pumpkin tart recipe. well i didnt really feel like making any special crust and i didnt have pecans on hand either so i just made a regular pie crust. i also did not have arrow root, which i replaced with cornstarch, and i did not have soy milk either so i used skim. this is just a basic pie for the most part, but it turned out beautiful! and smells soooo good. eventually i would like to follow the recipe exactly, though i will definetly not add so much ginger, as that is a little over board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie S
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was incredible! I replaced all the spices called for with 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice plus 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon on top of that. The pie firmed up beautifully (unlike a lot of other vegan recipes I've tried) and the crust was rich and delicious. I'm not even vegan but I'll be making this pie from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I have made this the last two years during the holidays and it is good. I add extra pecans for the decorative topings and substitute a nut milk (I like almond or hazelnut) for the soy milk. I usually just use ground pumpkin pie spice instead of the spice combo listed. I have found that this pie is best when the filling is blended extra long in the food processor and stored in the fridge overnight before serving. Making it the same day seems to result in a less flavorful pie with a gloppier consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I liked it, though it was not too sweet, except for the fact that it was too ginger-y. Next time I will make it with a more traditional spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Arrowroot powder is really great! Thanks for enlightening me. I did change this recipe a lot, I did a graham cracker crust because I'm just a fool for the graham. I used pumpkin pie spice and some dried crushed ginger instead of fresh. I liked the idea of having a gingery pie, but I do think a tablespoon would be too much. I used 'silk' soy creamer instead of regular soy milk, and I think it greatly enhanced the recipe, the pie was not runny at all. Another thing that made my pie perfectly thick, was that I used half the amount of maple syrup, purely because I ran out at 1/4 cup, I thought I had enough! But I really think it was good that that happened. I don't have a huge sweet tooth anyways. But all in all, I couldn't have made the filling any good without this. Try it with the creamer if you aren't worried about fat content, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I just want to say THANK YOU for this recipe!!!!!!!!!! This is my first vegan thanksgiving and my mother-in-law asked me to make pumpkin pie. I was a little worried as I am the ONLY meatless eater in a huge family..This pie was a HIT and was so easy to make. I will make this every year and share it with as many people as I can, especially those who think pumpkin pie has to have cream in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonchik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My favorite part about this tart is the hearty, healthy crust. I wanted something south-beach friendly, so no white flour or sugar, and this fit the bill. I replaced the maple syrup with agave nectar (which is low-glycemic) and replaced the spices with 2t pumpkin pie spice. It was not very sweet, though, much less sweet than pumpkin pie usually is. I fixed that by eating it with ff cool whip on top. I may add 1/2c splenda to the filling next time. Also, I did not have any problems with the consistency, the texture turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This recipe is now one of my favorites. I can't wait to make this beautiful pumpkin tart for my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I made this last year to take to a vegan Thanksgiving dinner and it was a big hit! I will be making it again this year for my family's traditional Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
We have experimented with egg-free pumpkin pie recipes for years -- this is the best one yet! Substituted rice milk for soy, changed the spices to match the recipe from the festal pumpkin pie can that we used to make. Thought it could be a little sweeter, so may add 1/4 c. brown sugar to the filling next time. Served it to a non-vegan family and it was well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States