Pumpkin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe and this bread! Everyone in my family loves it(which is not an easy task)..I have sent it along to people across the United States, so hopefully more people can enjoy it just as much! My only suggestions would be that the bake time is definitely up in the air depending on moisture and elevation of location, also I unfortunately swirled too much the 1st time, so I didn't have a pretty ribbon, but I still had a very moist pumpkin bread! this will definitely be a fave for a long time to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made mine as muffins and only baked them for 30 min. They turned out delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scoobycat1229

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was ok. I only made a few changes. I used hard margarine in place of butter and pumpkin pie spice in place of cinnamon and nutmeg. My only mistake was baking it in a glass loaf pan, it started rise too much and overflowed. Don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boombatine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
i saw quite a few failed reviews. this was my very first try at a bread, first try with sweetened cream cheese, first try with a homemade pumpkin puree and it was an unbelievable success. the only thing that went wrong was that i did not have an electric mixer for the sugar eggs and cream cheese. for some reason i thought putting raw egg in the microwave was a good idea and every now and then in a few bites you could taste a hint of egg in the bread. thanks for helping me with my first pumpkin/bread/baking adventure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
My boyfriend has never raved so much about a bread! It was great, and the cooking temps/time were right on, which was great. The only suggestion I have is to go ahead and double the recipe... if not you end up with leftover batter and filling, but not enough to merit getting a muffin pan dirty. I filled my 9x5 pan too full to try not to waste it hoping it wouldn't raise too much, but it did raise well and overflowed the bread pan! I also changed it a little, using only a few tblsp of neufchatel cheese and 6 oz. of vanilla greek yogurt instead of the cream cheese and I put pecans on top. The pecans sunk into the cream cheese filling, but it was still amazing. I will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! It took me about a week to eat it all and as long as you wrap it up it will stay moist and delicious! Next time I'll double the cream cheese part because it didn't seem to be swirly enough. And as long as you don't overmix it, it shouldn't get runny. I also put my batter in a 9"x13"x2" pan with parchment on the bottom and it baked in 40 minutes and came out wonderful. I then cut it up into 1"x1" squares and made "bars" out of it. On some I put a simple cream cheese frosting and on others a simple powdered sugar glaze or chocolate ganache glaze. It was very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastrychef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was EXCELLENT. It turned out perfect and it tasted like pumpkin cheesecake with the cream cheese swirls in it. A tip to get the swirl effect - don't just run your knife through it, that won't do anything. I took a butter knife and kind of churned the layered batter around from one end of the pan to the other. I will be posting pictures since mine turned out pretty nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This bread (more like cake) was awesome! I just made it for my girlfriend and I and we are literally eating all of it. We doubled the recipe but found that the creamcheese mixture should be doubled regardless in order to have a good impact (otherwise its unnoticeable). Also, ours cooked in the muffin tins about 30 minutes faster than if you made it like a loaf. Keep an eye on the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Very good. Easy. Would make a great gift for the holidays. I did 3 small loaf pans and what was left over I put in a 9x5 loaf and baked for 45 minutes. Tastes great after being refridgerated for breakfast!! My husband has been hounding me to find a recipe close to the Starbucks pumpkin bread. He said this was close enough and asked me to put this into rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I miss read the pumpkin puree amount and used a 15 oz. can of Libby's 100% Pure Pumpkin by mistake. Added 1 tsp. of pumpkin spice, used 4 oz. of unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil and cut the sugar down to 1 cup. It made 14 very large muffins that took 28 min. to bake. The only problem is they are very difficult to get out of the muffin paper, I think next time I will just put them in the muffin tin. Great recipe and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States