Pumpkin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
UNBELIEVABLE! I doubled the recipe and did the 3 loaf pans.....2 days before Thanksgiving. That was a mistake, all 3 dissapeared within 24 hours! Next time i will have to make a lot more! Super tastey, super moist, and a nice twist to the same boring pumpkin bread. I could not get the swirl to work....and the cream cheese seemed to rise to the top of the loaf....but it made a lovely and tastey top. To those of you with runny cream cheese and egg mixture....beat the mix well....the more air that gets incorporated the thicker it will set up! mine was running at the beginning but i beat to get rid of the lumps and the entire thing set-up very nice. I did add some ground ginger and a bit of ground clove.....but thats just because I LUV SPICES!!!! will make this recipe again and again as it has already been requested many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was so YUMMY! Made it several times and have made it just as a pumpkin bread without cream cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
It was very moist but I had trouble tasting the pumpkin and the cream cheese flavors. Next time I will use pumpkin spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made it into muffins, the texture is fabulous, perfectly moist, however, I had the same problem as some others, the cream cheese didn't have much flavor. Will add some extra sugar, lemon and cinnamon to the cream cheese portion to give it a little more distinct flavor next time. I will also add some pumpkin pie spice to the pumpkin, it could stand a lot more. Nice hearty comfort food muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This bread is delicious! Nice and moist with a good pumpkin flavor. When I make it again I will probably double the spices. I also added chocolate chips and chopped walnuts. ETA: I'm now making this for the second time (a double batch this time, the last one went too quickly!). I don't have any cream cheese so am just making the bread with added walnuts and chocolate chips. I do think the recipe is much better with more spices~I used 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (instead of 1/4 tsp nutmeg) and feel that the flavor it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Came out very moist and delicious. Would recommend Keeping more of the batter (three cups) for covering the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is an amazingly easy, moist bread. I threw my other pumpkin bread recipes away. I have already gotten several orders for holiday sales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
in my opinion it could use more sugar & spice to boost the flavor, it is bland to me. The texture is nice & moist, just the flavor is off. (I made 12 muffins in about 25 min & a small loaf in about 35 min.) Both the bread & cheese could be sweeter, in my opinion (I only used 1 cup sugar in the flour mixture, based on other reviews, but I wish I had used the full amount.) I like the idea of the recipe but it just didn't work out great for me. Maybe with a few tweaks I'd be happier with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Delish!! I made it into 18 cupcakes and they turned out great. The only thing I changed was I only added 1 cup of sugar. It would have been too much if I had added all of it. I will definately be making these again soon. My husband complained that I hadn't made a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I read through several reviews and cut the water to 1/4 cup instead of 1/3 cup since so many people struggled with getting the bread cooked all the way through. Othere than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out beautifully! The pumpkin bread is moist and flavorful and the cream cheese swirl is delicious. Great recipe, but it might ruin me for pumpkin bread without the swirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States