Pumpkin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This is very good bread! Very heavy, but good. The cream cheese swirl is the best part, yet it's rather thin. Next time I am going to double the cream cheese part and layer it twice. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Tastes really good, but mine did not have any swirl at all. I think the swirl would have given a more cream cheese flavor if it wasn't all blended into the pumpkin. I am going to make this again, but just layer it without swirling it together and see if it comes out better. My husband wants me to make this so he can take it to work to share with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This bread was okay. It was more like cake than bread, though, and there are several things I will do differently next time. First, I won't add the egg to the cream cheese mix--the final product tasted eggy, which wasn't good. Also, the swirling just didn't work. Next time, I'll leave it as a layer, which would be just fine. This recipe could do with a pinch of clove, too. A good recipe, but not a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
This recipe is FANTASTIC! My girls love making it and eating it. WE make it for our family, friends and church groups. They all love it. I send them here for the recipe. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
My FCCLA girls made this bread for our fund raiser. We had so many requests for this bread that we made 6 more batches. We made a total of 150 loaves of quickbread (26 pumpkin swirl). We used the small loaf pans and they were very pretty as well easier to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Very good! Very moist, also. The bake time was right on...everything worked out perfectly. There wasn't so much a swirl of cream cheese as there was ribbons and pockets, alot of it blended into the pumpkin mixture, but that was what made it so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This bread is fabulous. I've already had many request for the recipe. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Oh, yum. Exactly what I had in mind, with a few minor changes! I substituted 3/4 c. of the white flour with wheat flour. I also used 1 and 1/2 tsp. of a popular home kitchen's cinnamon & spice mixture in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg in the recipe. Reduced fat cream cheese as well. As far as the swirl goes: I poured about 1 inch of pumkin batter on the bottom and then about 1/3 of the cream cheese mix over it and swirled that. Then poured half the remaining pumpkin batter on top of that, then 1/2 cream cheese, swirled and repeated. Basically, trying to avoid one thick layer of cream cheese in the middle and putting just enough on top to create a nice swirl. It turned out wonderful! Next time, I might try reducing the butter to avoid the extra fat & calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Great dessert bread! I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top right before baking. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I have taken this to work several times and someone always asks for this recipe. I also like to bake a few loaves to take with me when I am visiting family over the holidays. I get tons of compliments and everyone loves this bread. I usually double the recipe and make three 8 X 4 inch loaves. I always use wheat flour and I never measure the pumpkin batter when I am pouring it into the pans, I just try to get half of the batter on the bottom and put the other half on top of the cream cheese mixture. I have made this so many times and I am still not sure why it is called Pumpkin "Swirl" Bread. I can never get the cream cheese to swirl. It always just looks like a layer of cream cheese to me, but it is still delicious. This makes a great breakfast or desert bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States