Pumpkin, Sweet Potato, Leek and Coconut Milk Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is delicious and easy -my boyfriend requests this ALL the time! I usually add in a little hot pepper flakes, but other than that, it's delicious as published here. and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I had just enjoyed this soup in a neighborhood deli. The next week there it was in my in box. I love the flavors and pumpkins were everywhere at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was a decent recipe. It needed a little help, but after adding some red pepper flakes and some curry powder it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is delicious, healthy comfort food. I added zuchini, peeled turnips, and used canned pumpkin puree instead of fresh. Also went with the suggestion of more spices, and tried nutmeg, allspice, ginger and curry. No need to puree, just mushed the veggies a little, and enjoyed it a bit chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I thought this soup was wonderful but i did make a few additions. I added carrots and garlic to the sauteed leeks/onions. It was kinda bland so I added about 1 teaspoon of red curry paste..the curry with the coconut milk and pumpkin- so good!Next time I'm going to add basmati rice as well. This is a nice fall soup and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I love the idea of this soup, but it needs just a little something to give it some oomph--I'm thinking fresh sage, which I'll try next time. I used butternut squash because there is no fresh pumpkin this time of year, so the soup was a touch sweeter than it might otherwise have been. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was really good - exceeded expectations. From a nutrition point of view it was excellent. The pumpkin (I used butternut squash)and sweet potato has a low G.I. and the servings are low in fat. My family ate a delicious low fat, vegetarian, high in vitamin and mineral soup with a lower glycemic index. Definitely a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I didn't have fresh pumpkin so I used a couple more sweet potatoes and then added 1 can of pumpkin when I added the coconut milk. I also pureed in a blender for a smooth consistency. I added the additional spices as others did. Maybe it would have more flavor if the sweet potatoes where roasted first? Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
delicious, made for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Oh wow! I just ate a huge bowl of this soup over some rice. I added curry powder and ginger, as suggested, along with a clove of garlic. What a wonderful, quick, easy meal idea. I'm going to try adding chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States