Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
We thought that this had a very pretty presentation. The idea is wonderful. The stew....not so great. It lacked in flavor and seasonings. May try this again another time, but first time was not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
this was great! stew tasted yummy and it looked awesome:) i didn't quite fill the pumpkin to the top with the stew, when i took it out of the oven it was full - must be it filled the rest of the way with the pumpkin juice. very good recipe! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs_marinara
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
While I didn't follow the stew recipie at all (I am a stew pro) the idea of making it in a pumpkin intigued me. My husband and I went to a fall festival, picked out a pumpkin and made this dish. We LOVED it! I'm sure this will become a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs_marinara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Being cajun, I couldn't resist changing the recipe just a bit. I added 1/2 more pound of beef, 12 oz. of "Texas Pete Seafood Cocktail Sauce, and more salt than the recipe calls for. I also boiled the potatoes and carrots for 30 min. before following the recipe(I actually could have cooked them longer). I also didn't serve in the pumpkin but scooped everything into a large bowl. the pumpkin was delicious and the stew was better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
A fun and fabulous fall recipe. However, I would cut back on the salt a little, but I like salt so it was not a big deal. I think this will become a fall tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
THIS WAS GREAT I WAS A LITTLE SKEPTICAL AT FIRST BECAUSE OF THE PUMPKIN BUT I REALLY ENJOYED THIS A+ ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I made this last fall... several times!! It is soooooooo yummy. It makes an amazing presentation. And is full of Fiber!! I did add a handful of mushrooms just because I love mushrooms. Oh how I wish there were pumpkins right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a neat recipe! The recipe doesn't give enough instructions though for non-experienced cooks, so here you go . . . cover the stew while it's being cooked on the stove, otherwise the liquid will cook off. Also, place the pumpkin top back on the pumpkin after it's filled, make sure the pumpkin stem is wet, and then cover the stem with tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was fabulous! I doubled the recipe for a party and used an 11 lb. French cooking pumpkin. I made the stew Friday night and baked it Saturday. It came out wonderful and the leftovers just got better and beter. Served with a crusty french bread to complete! Thanks for this great recipe - I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States