Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I agree with reviewers who say this is a great, basic recipe Equally, I concur with those who say the resulting flavor, as the recipe is written is pretty bland. I've been making a similar recipe for some time , and logged on to double-check cook times. I'd like to suggest a few easy tweaks to remedy the plainness of the recipe. Beef, pork, lamb, or some smoked sausage would work well as a filling, but be sure to season the meat first and brown in a separate skillet. Personally, I like to add Montreal Seasoning to the beef choice, and I do so with a fairly heavy hand since my family prefers more robust flavors. A pinch of ground cloves also heightens the flavor with beef, but be conservative with it. If using pork, I'm more inclined to use sage or poultry seasoning to taste. For lamb, I prefer thyme and a bit of rosemary. Ground black pepper, and lots of it, is a constant, regardless of the iteration. Also, instead of beef bouillon cubes, which are fine, I add dried French Onion soup mix for more of a kick, but a can of condensed Cream of Mushroom or Celery soup would also be an easy flavor boost for milder palates. The presentation always wins oohs and aahs from guests and I love that about this recipe. Also, it really lends itself to individual interpretation and variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe!! Just need more water, other than that, it was great!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I loved this recipe! Although I did chicken out and cut the pumpkin up to boil and add to the stew to simmer for the last 2 hours. The pumpkin I had looked unstable and it couldn't be trusted in my oven. I also added nutmeg, oregano, sage, thyme, celery and red pepper flakes. It definitely had the house smelling like fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe. The only thing I added was fresh ginger slices, a couple of extra garlic cloves and a dash of cinnamon. The fam loved it! We wait every year for pumpkins just so we can make stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I served this for our Christmas party and it was a huge success. Everyone loved the presentation and the stew was terrific. I changed nothing in the recipe. I'm sure I will be serving this again. I too wish that pumpkins were still available in our area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Loved it just the way it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmpickup
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have made this recipe 2 years now! I love it! It is VERY easy and a perfect blend of stew and pumpkin. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmpickup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
It would have been a five but I had thicken it up with cornstarch and add some extra spices. I did not cook in pumpkin. I chunked raw pumpkin and added to stew when I added the potatoes. Next time I might try and mash cooked pumpkin into broth mixture to thicken adding more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwd1017

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryann Tysinger
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe was amazing! Not to mention it looked so pretty on my fall decorated table. I used venison round steak instead of beef. Now, I did spice it up a notch- I added twice the amount of garlic, added garlic powder and garlic salt, Mrs. Dash (yes, garlic), two very exaggerated dashes of Cayenne pepper, and a big dash of ground red pepper for the extra "kick"! I also used Rotel Mexican Fiesta instead of peeled tomatoes. Very, Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is a great recipe. I have made it for years for company. The only thing that I changed was to add Peaches to the stew. It brings out a wonderful flavor to the whole dish. Ragbagger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States