Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carol
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Used a Cinderella pumpkin and it baked beautifully and the stew was yummy. Met the picky husband test too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it's amazing!!! It is just beautiful!! But, do not over bake the pumpkin or you stand the risk of it collapsing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sensewave
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Turned out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I agree with reviewers who say this is a great, basic recipe Equally, I concur with those who say the resulting flavor, as the recipe is written is pretty bland. I've been making a similar recipe for some time , and logged on to double-check cook times. I'd like to suggest a few easy tweaks to remedy the plainness of the recipe. Beef, pork, lamb, or some smoked sausage would work well as a filling, but be sure to season the meat first and brown in a separate skillet. Personally, I like to add Montreal Seasoning to the beef choice, and I do so with a fairly heavy hand since my family prefers more robust flavors. A pinch of ground cloves also heightens the flavor with beef, but be conservative with it. If using pork, I'm more inclined to use sage or poultry seasoning to taste. For lamb, I prefer thyme and a bit of rosemary. Ground black pepper, and lots of it, is a constant, regardless of the iteration. Also, instead of beef bouillon cubes, which are fine, I add dried French Onion soup mix for more of a kick, but a can of condensed Cream of Mushroom or Celery soup would also be an easy flavor boost for milder palates. The presentation always wins oohs and aahs from guests and I love that about this recipe. Also, it really lends itself to individual interpretation and variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe!! Just need more water, other than that, it was great!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I loved this recipe! Although I did chicken out and cut the pumpkin up to boil and add to the stew to simmer for the last 2 hours. The pumpkin I had looked unstable and it couldn't be trusted in my oven. I also added nutmeg, oregano, sage, thyme, celery and red pepper flakes. It definitely had the house smelling like fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe. The only thing I added was fresh ginger slices, a couple of extra garlic cloves and a dash of cinnamon. The fam loved it! We wait every year for pumpkins just so we can make stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I served this for our Christmas party and it was a huge success. Everyone loved the presentation and the stew was terrific. I changed nothing in the recipe. I'm sure I will be serving this again. I too wish that pumpkins were still available in our area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Loved it just the way it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmpickup
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have made this recipe 2 years now! I love it! It is VERY easy and a perfect blend of stew and pumpkin. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmpickup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States