Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Found what the store called a Jamacia pumpkin for Thanksgivng dinner. Used ground sirloin instread of stew beef and added three cans of different beans & one of corn to make it more veggie friendly. Microwaved pumpkin while cooking filling. Put cooked filling in pumpkin and baked a couple hours to blend flavors. DELICIOUS and impressed in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This dinner was a perfect meal for guests to have during the fall season. I used two pumpkins and placed each on a small dish, then placed slices of apples around the pumpkin to make it a little more festive. We passed the pumpkins around and I received rave reviews...thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Spare the poor pumkin! Added so many things to this stew to try and give it some flavor that it no longer had any relationship to this recipe. Cooked the pumpkin exactly as directed. The bottom split open and some of the stew leaked out preventing any thought of moving the ensemble to an attractive serving dish. The pumpkin looked pretty however. Will try again cooking the pumpkin empty for a shorter time and than filling it with something else - possibly pumpkin soup or mashed sweet potatoes. Or maybe I'll forget it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
We thought that this had a very pretty presentation. The idea is wonderful. The stew....not so great. It lacked in flavor and seasonings. May try this again another time, but first time was not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
this was great! stew tasted yummy and it looked awesome:) i didn't quite fill the pumpkin to the top with the stew, when i took it out of the oven it was full - must be it filled the rest of the way with the pumpkin juice. very good recipe! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs_marinara
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
While I didn't follow the stew recipie at all (I am a stew pro) the idea of making it in a pumpkin intigued me. My husband and I went to a fall festival, picked out a pumpkin and made this dish. We LOVED it! I'm sure this will become a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs_marinara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Being cajun, I couldn't resist changing the recipe just a bit. I added 1/2 more pound of beef, 12 oz. of "Texas Pete Seafood Cocktail Sauce, and more salt than the recipe calls for. I also boiled the potatoes and carrots for 30 min. before following the recipe(I actually could have cooked them longer). I also didn't serve in the pumpkin but scooped everything into a large bowl. the pumpkin was delicious and the stew was better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
A fun and fabulous fall recipe. However, I would cut back on the salt a little, but I like salt so it was not a big deal. I think this will become a fall tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
THIS WAS GREAT I WAS A LITTLE SKEPTICAL AT FIRST BECAUSE OF THE PUMPKIN BUT I REALLY ENJOYED THIS A+ ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I made this last fall... several times!! It is soooooooo yummy. It makes an amazing presentation. And is full of Fiber!! I did add a handful of mushrooms just because I love mushrooms. Oh how I wish there were pumpkins right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States