Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Excellent stew. Had to almost triple the amount of water, but I used beef broth instead for a lovely rich taste. Omitted the beef granules too. Omitted the tomato for personal tastes. Husband said it was the best stew I ever made. The pumpkin adds a great offset flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Made this for the first time and it's delicious. I used smaller red and orange peppers rather than green bell to make it more festive and add spice. I also added portabella mushrooms. I've found it a safe bet, based on other reviews, to not scrape very hard on the bottom of the pumpkin. This way it is less likely to crack. Also, I sat the pumpkin atop the stove as it warmed up, so that it wasn't such a drastic change in temperature (so to avoid the pumpkin potentially splitting.) I also added some canned apricots, diced. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Liberty, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe was easy and very impressive! I took it a church social and it looked and tasted great. I plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
i have made this recipe multiple times just as the recipe states. turns out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBJSANDWICHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Spectacular presentation. I was rushed so I chopped my ingredients small to speed the initial cooking to an hour. I used beef stock instead of water and bouillion, omitted the bell pepper and added about 1.5 tsp. of Herbes de Provence, which were delicious in this recipe. I also uppped the salt, since my stock was low in salt. Tried the suggestion to wrap the stem in foil, which worked perfectly. My family is demanding this for Halloween dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My kids and I love this recipe. It is a fall classic! Very festive and it is more than just beef stew...it has a little something extra :) dj
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
i have used this recipes a few times and im always asked for the recipes. the only thing i changed is i used organic baby carets. your amazing thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Yummy! Perfect for a cool Fall day! I made this last year & will make again this year. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Rush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is such a unique recipe, presentation is gorgeous, and I believe that the pumpkin itself adds to the flavours of the stew and enriches the beef taste quite well. Very original, and delicious in the fall months. For a summer variation, try making a cold soup inside a hollowed out summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Found what the store called a Jamacia pumpkin for Thanksgivng dinner. Used ground sirloin instread of stew beef and added three cans of different beans & one of corn to make it more veggie friendly. Microwaved pumpkin while cooking filling. Put cooked filling in pumpkin and baked a couple hours to blend flavors. DELICIOUS and impressed in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States