Pumpkin Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was very good! I tried it in Oct. when pumpkins were on sale. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was an excellent stew. I only had a small pumpkin so I cut it up and put it in the stew during the last hour of cooking. Didn't eat until the next day so the flavors could blend. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I love this recipe. The stew is great on it's own but I was really surprised at how awesome the pumpkin bits are. The pumpkin really compliments the stew. And of course the presentation is perfect for fall. One of my family's favorite fall traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was fantastic. The presentation was nice. I made this for our college girls halloween party. I used beef stock instead of water, and only one pound of meat (it waa fajita meat not stew meat). Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I was fantastic, everyone loved it! It was sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Zitzman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I have a better stew recipe that I think I will stick with (add a bit of red wine and some bay leaf). I usually cook mine in smaller individual pumpkins. Guests eat the cooked pumpkin as they go. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
We have used this recipe on several occasions and gatherings. People find it unusual but, at the sametime, super delicious. It is one dish that there is no leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jared MacKillip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Pumpkin soup is a halloween tradition at our house, but we use smoked keilbassa rather than beef then add the winter vegetables; a rutabega, a couple of parsnips, a sweet potato and just a handfull of wild rice. be sure to scrape some of the pumpkin into each bowl. sprinkle with a little bit of fresh parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My mom made a similar version of this stew every Halloween before we were allowed to get into costume and hit the streets for candy gold. We add 8 dried apricots, cut in half, and 1/4 cup golden raisins. It adds a little sweetness to the recipe and taste REALLY good when they plump up from the liquid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I use this year after year...people love the idea that it is in a pumpkin. I have even used the already prepared beef stew and just shave pumpkin off the side to add to the stew and stew flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I used a 10 pound pumpkin for a serving size for 3 people. I prebaked the pumpkin for 30 minutes for easy cutting (which is also supposedly good for enhancing the flavor). Instead of green peppers, I added celery, I added only 2/3 of the salt and no bouillon cubes, and added twice the amount of water the recipe called for. I don't think I used the right pumpkin since the pumpkin meat was not very tasty. However, the presentation was beautiful and the stew itself was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States