Pumpkin Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
These pumpkin bars are amazing, I think I will be serving these instead of Pumpkin pie this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This one's a keeper. I followed the recipe to the letter except for baking them in a well-greased 10 x 15" (half-sheet) pan for about 25 minutes. I also frosted the cooled bars with a simple cream cheese frosting (8 oz. butter, 8 oz. cream cheese, 2 tsp vanilla and a pound of powdered sugar. Perfect, and extremely well-received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Everyone loved it! Will have this again and have shared the recipe with others. Cream cheese frosting and using the 11x16 cookie sheet for baking. Wonderful and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Litman-Pulka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is cake. FYI. I made it low cal and healthier by using whole wheat flour, 1cup sugar instead of 2, unsweetened applesauce instead of veg oil, and instead of 4 eggs, I used 3 eggs and 1 serving of egg substitute. I may try 2/2 next time. Baked exactly 25 minutes and is very moist and fluffy! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I baked them for 30 min in a 10x13 pan, and the edges got slightly burnt. Otherwise, it's a pretty good recipe, but definitely on the light/fluffy/airy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Fantastic. I made the following changes to make it lower sugar and fat (and so lower calorie), and they still turned out moist and delicious. My nephews couldn't stop eating these! Replace: 1 cup oil with 1/2 cup apple sauce, 1/2 cup oil; 2 cups sugar with 1/2 cup agave syrup and 1/4 sugar (or all sugar if no agave); 4 eggs with 2 eggs and 2 egg whites. I also added 1 cup raisins to the dry ingredients before stirring in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Excellent pumpkin squares. They were moist and i made them with cream cheese frosting yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I split the recipe in half and baked in an 8x8 glass pan. I ended up baking them for around 40-45 minutes, and I needed to reduce the oven temperature a bit. They were thicker than I anticipated, but excellent! I topped mine with powdered sugar. My family loved them and even my mom asked for the recipe! I agree that it turns out as more of a coffee cake/bread. The squares had a definite gingerbread flavor (with similar spices as pumpkin gingerbread recipes). I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
So fluffy and tasty! I only had 2 eggs, so I substituted flax (1 tbsp ground flax seed + 3 tbsp water = 1 egg), and only had kabocha pumpkin (probably used 2.5 cups). I also always decrease oil (substitute with apple sauce) and sugar in my baking (just prefer fewer calories and less sweet), and used half whole wheat flour too, and it still tasted amazing! Usually making all the "healthy" substitutions makes my baked goods taste too "healthy" but these were so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
First let me say, I've been using this website for years, but this recipe finally prompted me to create an account just so I could leave a rating. These squares are EXCELLENT! Today was the perfect fall day for something pumpkin, but I didn't feel like all of the work of pumpkin bread. These were so easy and done in 30 minutes. I baked these exactly as the recipe called for. They were moist and so flavorful. I'm sure they would be even better with some homemade cream cheese icing, but I just dusted them with powdered sugar. They were still a bit warm from the oven and everyone raved over them. This is my new go-to recipe. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States