Pumpkin, Spinach, and Feta Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Folks, if you're having a problem getting the eggs cooked enough, it's because this is not prepared like a real frittata which is started out in a skillet. Your pumpkin (4 cups is too much for 8 eggs)and potato and onion should be sauteed (separately, of course) then the eggs poured in and cheese added, cook till the bottom is set, then place in hot oven or under broiler. Sauteeing the veg will add so much more flavor to the pan than pre-cooking in a microwave (yuk); and in a good skillet, I have never had a frittata stick. This way, it cooks in a lot less time and you don't have a bunch of bowls to wash--just one skillet. Also, for any dish to be flavorful and not one dimensional, you must season each component--not just the final conglomeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My whole family loved this one. After reading other reviews I did make a few alterations. I added cooked diced onion to the egg mix and topped the frittata with tomato slices rather than the sliced onion. I also used frozen spinach rather than fresh. Very easy and very tasty recipe that we'll definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I don't actually use recipes, per se. I never make the same thing twice, but often get stuck on inspiration. So thank you for launch idea on a wonderful not-so-usual brunch this morning. I substituted baked sweet potato (already on hand) for both pumpkin and potato, added raw pistachios and some salt/generous black pepper, served with side of steamed carrot greens (I like slight bitter with my sweet). I baked it using cast iron, as I usually do with an egg dish. It was wonderful; my husband, however, ate all of it so there's no leftovers to try it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Yummy!!! I tried this recipe b/c it was the closest I could come to a pumpkin frittata that I had in Sydney about a week ago. I subbed butternut squash and reduced the cheese and added some cilantro, and corriander and it was great! I still have some tweaking to do before it's 5 star worthy, but I think it just needs a bit more butternut than I added and maybe a little more salt...great as is though...can't wait to make it for my bf...he'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIABETICCUPCAKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
first and foremost, i only made one serving instead of four. in doing so, i cooked it in a glass loaf dish. maybe because of the reduction, i had more veggies & cheese than i probably should have and needed to add a third egg to make it look right before putting it in the oven. also, maybe because of the dish i used, i had to cook it for about 33 minutes to ensure the egg was set, resulting in my perhaps too thin red onions on top becoming dry and chewy (they were about 1mm thick). maybe if i make this in the future i will put the onion in with the rest of the mixture and on top. over all the flavors worked well with one another & the potato was a hesitant but wonderful addition. it's more like a crust-less quiche than a frittata, but it was very easy to throw together and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I used butternut squash as the submitter mentions in the description. I also cut this back to one serving. It looked as though there was not enough egg in the mixture, but when it did firm up, it was just the right amount. Even though I only made one serving and used a smaller baking dish, this still took the full 25 minutes to bake. The sweetness from the squash was evident in the final dish. I needed to add a good bit of salt and pepper to the finished product, which made me wish I'd added it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Added salt and pepper, and red onion chopped into the mixture. Topped with the squash seeds, dry roasted, and some parmesan. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The kids fought over who got more of this. I made it without any pumpkin or potato as I didn't have any on hand. I added 2 gloves minced garlic. It took 35-40 minutes to firm up in my oven, but I used an oval instead of 10" square pan. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Excellent. Included onions in frittata (onions were mentioned only in ingredients). They added a nice crunch. Got rave reviews:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Cut down on pumpkin, potatoes, feta & cheddar cheeses. Added some salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States