Pumpkin, Spinach, and Feta Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
WONDERFUL! I sauteed the onion in olive oil and put it on the bottom of the casserole dish, and then piled the butternut squash (instead of pumpkin) and potato on top, then feta, wilted fresh spinach, poured on the eggs and topped with the cheddar. Everyone at the table loved it and had seconds, except for the toddler who could not be diverted from the Turkish red lentil and mint soup I had also made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I followed another reviewer's tip and sauteed the onion first until carmelized, then sprinkled salt and nutmeg over the onion and stirred together. I stirred in the already cooked fresh pumpkin and sweet potato ( I was out of regular potato) along with some salt, added spinach, then reduced-fat sharp cheddar and reduced-fat feta cheese, then egg, stirring each time I added an ingredient into the skillet. After it was mixed, I poured it into a Mrs. Smith's pie crust (I cooked the crust earlier in the day). Based on someone's review that there was too much pumpkin and potato for the eggs, I decided to use only half of the onion, pumpkin, sweet potato mixture and mashed it for another day. That was a good call. It came out great. One warning: I had too much filling for the pie crust (9") so poured the rest into a small casserole dish and cooked them both 35 minutes, which worked out fine. My husband and me liked this, but it didn't pass my 3 year olds' taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I just love this recipe....I wanted to use up some cream cheese so I reduced the feta. I must say, I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Folks, if you're having a problem getting the eggs cooked enough, it's because this is not prepared like a real frittata which is started out in a skillet. Your pumpkin (4 cups is too much for 8 eggs)and potato and onion should be sauteed (separately, of course) then the eggs poured in and cheese added, cook till the bottom is set, then place in hot oven or under broiler. Sauteeing the veg will add so much more flavor to the pan than pre-cooking in a microwave (yuk); and in a good skillet, I have never had a frittata stick. This way, it cooks in a lot less time and you don't have a bunch of bowls to wash--just one skillet. Also, for any dish to be flavorful and not one dimensional, you must season each component--not just the final conglomeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Added salt and pepper, and red onion chopped into the mixture. Topped with the squash seeds, dry roasted, and some parmesan. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I used butternut squash as the submitter mentions in the description. I also cut this back to one serving. It looked as though there was not enough egg in the mixture, but when it did firm up, it was just the right amount. Even though I only made one serving and used a smaller baking dish, this still took the full 25 minutes to bake. The sweetness from the squash was evident in the final dish. I needed to add a good bit of salt and pepper to the finished product, which made me wish I'd added it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The kids fought over who got more of this. I made it without any pumpkin or potato as I didn't have any on hand. I added 2 gloves minced garlic. It took 35-40 minutes to firm up in my oven, but I used an oval instead of 10" square pan. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I don't actually use recipes, per se. I never make the same thing twice, but often get stuck on inspiration. So thank you for launch idea on a wonderful not-so-usual brunch this morning. I substituted baked sweet potato (already on hand) for both pumpkin and potato, added raw pistachios and some salt/generous black pepper, served with side of steamed carrot greens (I like slight bitter with my sweet). I baked it using cast iron, as I usually do with an egg dish. It was wonderful; my husband, however, ate all of it so there's no leftovers to try it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Cut down on pumpkin, potatoes, feta & cheddar cheeses. Added some salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Excellent. Included onions in frittata (onions were mentioned only in ingredients). They added a nice crunch. Got rave reviews:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States