Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I have been searching for a low sugar pumpkin muffin for my toddler... I will keep searching. I subbed honey for sugar and halved the recipe. I also made minis, but they still took over 20 minutes to cook and would sort of mushy in the middle and the outside got tough. I love using whole wheat, so the taste could be good with some tweaking of the recipe-just not sure what. Sorry, probably won't waste time making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
so bad....not enough sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
these aren't the best ever but i like em alright. they're just missing something. i added some brown sugar and vanilla, next time i think ill add nuts. i think this is a good recipe if you're dieting, but if you're one of those people who like everything super sweet they're definitely not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHASINRABBITS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
As written, these are very bland, and the taste of the wholewheat flour was a bit overpowering. I've never had a 'flour' taste in baked goods before, so this was a first. After adding 4 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice, and doubling the sugar, this still was bland. Added salt and had used sweetened applesauce. Another tsp. each of cinnamon and allspice helped. They did bake up nicely, but the batter is incredibly thick. Made 8 Texas sized muffins and baked for 37 minutes. If one is on a special diet, then this is a pretty good recipe but will need much more spice to give it something. I would recommend adding salt and more spice if making these without any dietary restrictions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Very moist and tasty after cooling. Added some raisins and used vanilla extract. I'll try some variations with different spices that were recommended in other ratings. Doubled the recipe.Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Does not have a very good taste. Needs to be sweeter in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
The first bite or two, we all thought it was just average. But by the end of the muffin, we all loved it -- children, too! These muffins are great for breakfast (or any time, for that matter). My kids can't get enough of them. Some of the reviews were not very positive, but we are accustomed to ww flour, so maybe that helps? I successfully substitued pumpkin pie spice or allspice for the cinnamon and nutmeg when I ran out. Based on other reviews, I also increased the almond to 1-1/2t. and added 1t. vanilla. Very good. Very moist muffin. A new favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
These muffins were very, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Very bland! Did not have much pumpkin flavor. Not enough sugar even after I adjusted as someone had suggested. Was dissapointed. Oh - and they stuck horribly to my muffin cups. Sorry, not a winner with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Too much nutmeg and could have used a little more sugar. With those modifications this IS a recipe worth trying. Whole wheat and pumpkin is a great combination. I also had to bake much longer than called for - could have been my oven, but make sure they're ready before you take them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANANDBENNETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States