Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Ohhh, I wish I could give this a better rating. I followed the instructions utterly to the letter and I was not impressed. The muffins had great texture and were very moist, but the "sweet" in the author's description did not apply to my muffins--it was as if I'd left the sugar entirely out. I wasnt expecting cupcake-sweet, but this was very very bland. They are pretty good with some peanut butter or (sweetened!) cream cheese, which ends up increasing the calories. I have some Funfetti icing in the fridge--I think I'll try that out! :) I'll enjoy the rest of these but I dont think I'll be making them again. Maybe my tastes are just different! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
These are excellant. The first time I made them, I didn't use applesauce and they turned out more wholesome. For more yumminess, top with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I'm sorry, nobody in my family liked these. They were not really even edible. They were dry and tasteless and very heavy! Would never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
the perfect toddler muffin! naturally sweetened and wholesome! My daughter loves them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
It is very difficult to find a recipe for whole wheat muffins that are moist and light. (I usually end up with a dense rock!) This recipe has everything I look for: 100% whole grains, low fat and low sugar content on top of great taste and texture. A keeper for sure! Thanks Robyn! P.S: The first time I made these I used paper liners and half of the muffin stuck to the paper, so be sure to use a non stick pan as indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This had a really nice aroma, but overall I was really disappointed with this one. I did use splenda, so maybe that did it. I might try one more time with a different sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
I did not have whole wheat flour or almond extract, so I used white flour and vanilla. The recipie is great if you love the taste of flour. I added additional seasoning and pumpkin along with half a bag of mini chocolate chips, but it didn't help at all. Hopefully they are better with the wheat flour and almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
These muffins are really good! My modifications: Added 1/2 cup dried cranberries as one reviewer suggested, used Splenda instead of sugar, and used pumpkin pie spice instead of the combination of other spices. Delicious! I'm going to make another batch so I can use up the rest of the pumpkin - can't wait to have these for breakfast next week! I think I may add crystallized ginger this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I doubled the recipe so I could use a full can of pumpkin. But then I used only 3 c. applesauce and about 1/4 c. apple juice concentrate. They turned out pretty good. I might use more spices next time . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Very healthy breakfast food, easy to make. I think dried cranberries or cherries would liven this recipe up a bit but still keep them healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States