Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by tvan
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
First off, I'm generally not a fan of pumpkin anything but these cupcakes were quite the surprise to me. Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem with the moistness of the cupcakes having used butter. They were quite moist & light. I will say that I didn't use the suggested amount of sugar in the frosting because it was sweet enough before I used it all. I will use it all next time though because the consistency of the frosting was a little too runny. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I give these a 4 because I think this is a good starter recipe. I added a WHOLE can (15 oz or so) of pumpkin and heaping spoons of the spices. They turned out awesome. My boyfriend said they would have been better with some different texture like nuts but because I don't really like nuts in dessert I don't think I'll change that next time. Leftovers were still moist in the fridge 3 days later and it seemed like the flavor had gotten even more intense! Great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Followed recipe, they were a hit at the birthday party. Frosting is not too sweet and the touch of cinnamon was great. This recipe is a keeper for me. My cupcakes baked a little faster than the time given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Off the charts moist and delicious!! But, okay, I did change a few things. I simply replaced the butter with unsweetened apple sauce (something I do with virtually all recipes that call for oil or butter), I doubled the pumpkin and I used a bit more cinnamon. I also baked them at 350 for about 18 minutes and they were perfectly done! (This is one area that I felt was way off in the original directions. 375 is too high and 25 minutes would have meant very burnt cupcakes for me!) With these changes, they were perfect!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Perfect! Only change was I didn't do cream cheese frosting because my kids don't love it. Otherwise we loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buddy Irwin
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I just finished making these cupcakes.WOW! I adjusted the recipe for 36 cupcakes because I like to make a big cupcake. They are great!! I used oil instead of butter because I think they are more moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddy Irwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is the first time making this recipe. They came out wonderful! Pumpkin flavor was spot on and the cakes are moist. I didn't modify this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHPFVR
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I'm only rating this recipe as a 5 because I made the all adjustments from DelightfulDines rating comments. I think these are hands down the best cupcakes I ever had! My dad and I would like to lose weight so I guess we shouldn't have made 24 to share between the 2 of us lol :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Made them today and they were very good. I think the frosting needs to be a little thicker and then it would be a 5. But the cupcake itself was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Before I tasted these but after I had them mixed up and in the oven, I looked over some of the reviews. “Oh, no!” I thought to myself. “Maybe I should have used more spices. Less spices. Oil instead of butter. A different baking time or temperature! Not to worry. The recipe as is, which is how I made it, is just right. The cupcakes are pretty, moist, tender, definitely spicy, with good flavor. If I have any criticism at all, it’s that if you like a fair amount of frosting, the yield is inadequate as written - were I do make this again, I’d double it. Also, as I always do, I took the cupcakes out of the oven a few minutes sooner than the recommended baking time and I’m glad I did. At 22 minutes I don’t think they could have stood one more minute without being overbaked – not a good thing, especially for butter cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States