Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I loved this cake recipe! I didn't have any pumpkin on hand but fortunately I had some sweet potatoes lying around and mashed and used those instead. Wonderful flavor, moist, and baked up great in the oven! Improvised and made my own frosting because I also didn't have cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME I give it your highest rating. They are very rich though can't eat more than one. Made them in large cupcake pans only made nine but will use the smaller ones next time I couldn't finish the cupcake it was so rich. I am the baker in my family and everyone comes to me for recipes. I always bake from scratch and this will be added to my cookbook permenently
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So I usually make cookies instead of cakes, but I wanted to try these. I started out with the original recipe, but when I started beating the butter, it looked wrong with what the description said it should look like so I started reading the comments. By then it's my own fault for how things don't go right, but I feel like I should still say: even with only half-way following the recipe, and trying to win ground by altering it by following other people's comments, these aren't THAT bad, and maybe the original recipe would have been good to follow with just the normal amount of tinkering. I mean, as far as the comments go, I think doubling the spices took things a little too far. I also think that doubling the pumpkin made them way too moist, to the point where they're not still doughy in the middle but they're kinda almost like that (you know?) and baking them for another couple of minutes doesn't quite make things right. So if you're going to alter the recipe, you might not want to do things quite so drastically. Take the comments with a grain of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
AWESOME recipe but like others I did modify it. I used a whole cup of pumpkin puree and less milk. My grandma and my boyfriend helped me make this (as I am only 17 and have no idea what I'm doing)and she suggested I add more cinnamon but I wanted to stick as close to the recipe as possible. I believe more cinnamon would have given it a more spicy feel but I love them anyway. The cream cheese icing was good to eat on its own haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tvan
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
First off, I'm generally not a fan of pumpkin anything but these cupcakes were quite the surprise to me. Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem with the moistness of the cupcakes having used butter. They were quite moist & light. I will say that I didn't use the suggested amount of sugar in the frosting because it was sweet enough before I used it all. I will use it all next time though because the consistency of the frosting was a little too runny. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I give these a 4 because I think this is a good starter recipe. I added a WHOLE can (15 oz or so) of pumpkin and heaping spoons of the spices. They turned out awesome. My boyfriend said they would have been better with some different texture like nuts but because I don't really like nuts in dessert I don't think I'll change that next time. Leftovers were still moist in the fridge 3 days later and it seemed like the flavor had gotten even more intense! Great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Followed recipe, they were a hit at the birthday party. Frosting is not too sweet and the touch of cinnamon was great. This recipe is a keeper for me. My cupcakes baked a little faster than the time given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Off the charts moist and delicious!! But, okay, I did change a few things. I simply replaced the butter with unsweetened apple sauce (something I do with virtually all recipes that call for oil or butter), I doubled the pumpkin and I used a bit more cinnamon. I also baked them at 350 for about 18 minutes and they were perfectly done! (This is one area that I felt was way off in the original directions. 375 is too high and 25 minutes would have meant very burnt cupcakes for me!) With these changes, they were perfect!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Perfect! Only change was I didn't do cream cheese frosting because my kids don't love it. Otherwise we loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buddy Irwin
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I just finished making these cupcakes.WOW! I adjusted the recipe for 36 cupcakes because I like to make a big cupcake. They are great!! I used oil instead of butter because I think they are more moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddy Irwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States