Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
These were excellent, I followed the recipe as written, except I used vegetable oil instead of butter! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious! It was a great hit with my family, though the frosting was perhaps a bit too sugary. thanks for the recipe, I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Yummmmyyyy! Easy to make and fun to make with my 3 yr old son. He loved them as did his class at daycare. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerBee
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made these cupcakes last week and got RAVE reviews. I didn't have 3 cups of icing sugar, only 2 1/4 cups which made the icing taste more cream-cheesy. Everyone commented on how yummy the icing was. I would make this icing for cinnamon buns, spice cake, coffee cake...it is deeelicious. Also, I used canned pumpkin, not pumpkin puree. Not sure if this made a difference but the consistency of the cupcake was dense, more like a loaf than a cupcake but still so good. The kids gobbled them up! Thanks for sharing this wonderful and tasty autumn treat. This will be an annual tradition for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Rave reviews...trumped pumpkin pie (which is hard to do in our family). The cinnamon cream cheese frosting is simply YUM! I have made this as cupcakes, but have also made it as a layer cake. It's always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma.Cindie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this recipe twice this past week. I never read any comments before I made it, so this is AS IS in the recipe. First I made them as cupcakes and they were perfect AS IS!!! If yours are turning out dry, you are overbaking them. Yes, the eggs need to be at room temperature or they won't rise right and be flat. (just put them in a dish of hot water for a few minutes in their shells, warms them up great) I love all the spices, which I always have on hand and make my own pumpkin pie spice out of when needed. the frosting was great, but don't expect it to be fluffy and pipe out on the cupcakes like the picture, because cream cheese frosting won't do that unless there is a lot more powdered sugar in it. Two days ago I made this as a cake and also turned out perfect, took to a funeral yesterday and am on here to make copies and share with people asking for the recipe. this is from a professional baker with 37 years experience and lots of customers, so try it as is and just don't overbake stuff. Also baked goods take a day to mellow and actually get moister as they sit overnight, so just make ahead and don't eat straight out of the oven and it won't be dry. I can see how a little sour cream or plain or greek yogurt in the batter would make even richer. happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I loved this cake recipe! I didn't have any pumpkin on hand but fortunately I had some sweet potatoes lying around and mashed and used those instead. Wonderful flavor, moist, and baked up great in the oven! Improvised and made my own frosting because I also didn't have cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME I give it your highest rating. They are very rich though can't eat more than one. Made them in large cupcake pans only made nine but will use the smaller ones next time I couldn't finish the cupcake it was so rich. I am the baker in my family and everyone comes to me for recipes. I always bake from scratch and this will be added to my cookbook permenently
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So I usually make cookies instead of cakes, but I wanted to try these. I started out with the original recipe, but when I started beating the butter, it looked wrong with what the description said it should look like so I started reading the comments. By then it's my own fault for how things don't go right, but I feel like I should still say: even with only half-way following the recipe, and trying to win ground by altering it by following other people's comments, these aren't THAT bad, and maybe the original recipe would have been good to follow with just the normal amount of tinkering. I mean, as far as the comments go, I think doubling the spices took things a little too far. I also think that doubling the pumpkin made them way too moist, to the point where they're not still doughy in the middle but they're kinda almost like that (you know?) and baking them for another couple of minutes doesn't quite make things right. So if you're going to alter the recipe, you might not want to do things quite so drastically. Take the comments with a grain of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
AWESOME recipe but like others I did modify it. I used a whole cup of pumpkin puree and less milk. My grandma and my boyfriend helped me make this (as I am only 17 and have no idea what I'm doing)and she suggested I add more cinnamon but I wanted to stick as close to the recipe as possible. I believe more cinnamon would have given it a more spicy feel but I love them anyway. The cream cheese icing was good to eat on its own haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States