Pumpkin Spice Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These are not very good. They have no taste when made as written. When I mixed up the batter, I considered adding some cinnamon, nutmeg, etc -- pumpkin pie spices. Then I thought I'd just try the recipe as directed and see how it turns out. As I said -- no flavor. They may be better if you add some spices, but really, it's not much harder to make a pumpkin cookie or pumpkin bar from scratch and they would be much, much better than these. The only reason I give them 2 stars is because they are incredibly easy, but your effort, or lack thereof, will show. Personally I feel better about spending an extra 10 or 15 minutes to make something worthwhile, than spend 5 minutes for something so bland. I'm sorry to say that anyone who is impressed by these cookies has not experienced true homemade baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Too easy! I did add about 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice, as per other reviews. To half, I added some chocolate chips, but I will admit the ones without the chocolate are much, much better (and I love chocolate!) Start to finish it took less than an hour - can't beat that. In addition, it is cheap and healthier than most cookies! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great recipe, but the cooking time isn't nearly enough! I did the first pan for 9 minutes, and ended up with gooey globs of dough. I thought maybe they just needed to cool, but no, now they are cold gooey globs of dough. This second batch I'm leaving in for at least 15 minutes. Oh, and I also added 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice and 1 cup chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good. I too added chocolate chips because I think they are a must, and a little pumpkin spice. But I love that there was no oil added. I gave these 4 stars because the cooking time seems way off, I had to cook for several additional minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyFlyBoys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
very easy and very tasty. i followed the recipe and baked it like a cake. i put cream cheese frosting on it and it was great. it would be easy to add ingredients to it and make it YOURS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I just made these cookies, I did add 1 egg and a dash of ground cloves. Too bad I only used 1 box of the cake mix. They are excellent. This is going to be my Christmas cookie for my gift baskets, and everyone will think I cooked all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Quick, simple, easy, spectacular. I did add some pumpkin pie spice to it, too. But, it was so good and so easy. Will keep this one for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I have been making this for a few years but have always added chocolate chips. I always get so many compliments on them and requests for more! One of the easiest bake sale items you can make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I'm so glad I found this recipe! I added mini chocolate chips to mine, and "squished" them down a bit after dropping so they baked more evenly. (Figured this out for the second batch.) They're a perfect clone of the ones I wait all year for in the store, but with a fraction of the fat and calories. I'll definitely be adding them to my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These cookies are amazing! My mom doesn't like pumpkin and she even said these were the best! I made them with cream cheese frosting! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States