Pumpkin Spice Cake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This cake was a big hit! My co-workers gobbled it up! I tweaked the frosting as well: 1/2 stick butter, 1 C confectioners' sugar, 3/4 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp vanilla, and 1 (8 oz) pkg cream cheese. Very good! Not too sweet and good spice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was a very excellent cake! However i didnt use the recipe given for the frosting (the ingredients didnt seem proportional) so i used "Cream Cheese Frosting II" found on here and i just added some cinnamon and it turned out super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I have been making this cake, as pumpkin bars for about 20+ years. It has remained a staple favorite. We use a 15X10 jelly roll pan instead of the 9X13. We do add about double the spice and usually I just use pumpkin pie spice. For frosting we use a can of vanilla frosting and beat 4 oz of cream cheese into it and add some pumpkin pie spice. For fall events we decorate each bar with a marshmallow candy pumpkin or candy corn. Everyone I know like this better chilled in the fridge before eating. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne
Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These are my changes that I believe make a Five Star Cake: Add in the 3.4 oz pkg of Vanilla Pudding (omit the vanilla extract). Add one extra egg. 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup water. And, I only use 1 cup of pumpkin puree. (Although using more would probably be great, too - just cut back the oil and water). And, I never measure the spices - I just go nuts (it's a rarity that there's too much spice for me). For the frosting, I use pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
As is, I give the cake recipe a 3. At my first attempt, I baked the cake in a 6inch round to see how it would turn out. It was a bit dry and needed a lot more spice to make it more of a pumpkin flavor. After tasting that, I decided it would make better cookies, which it did! They were delicious :) On my second attempt, I added a total of 2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice ( 6 teaspoons), use a mix w/o pudding in the mix and added pumpkin pie flavored pudding mix (found at walmart), 4 eggs (helped solve the dryness), 1/3 cup oil, and 1/4 cup milk. The end result was fantastic. I did not use the icing because the proportions were off, and instead used my own recipe. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
The cake is very good but the cinnamon cream cheese icing needs more powdered sugar! Be sure to taste it while in the mixer. Next time, I'd add at least 2 1/2 cups, if not more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This review is just for the cake, as I opted to make a cream cheese glaze from another AR recipe. I had a spice cake mix laying around (don't even remember what I bought it for in the first place) and figured this was a good way to use it. In spite of the spices already in the mix I prepared this recipe as written, including all of the spices. I baked it in a Bundt pan, about 45 minutes. If the aroma as it was baking was any indication of how the cake would taste I knew it was going to be good. And it was! It was moist, of course, as cake mix cakes generally are, pretty nutmeg in color, richly pumpkin and robustly flavored with spices. And no characteristic cake mix taste, which is always a plus for me. I wonder, however, if that would have been the case had I used the yellow cake mix called for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Amazing! Great flavor. Only thing I added was 1/4 cup water. The frosting wasn't for me, so the second time I made it I used the pumpkin bar icing from this site...I cut down the butter just a bit and added a little bit more of cream cheese and then cinnamon to my liking...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This recipe was a huge hit with my family. It is very delicious and extremely easy to make. My only suggestion is to half the recipe for the frosting. We had more than enough to cover the cake and about 2 cups left over! It's a really great autumn dessert and like I said, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Very easy and tasty! I used Golden Butter cake mix instead of yellow and decreased the frosting to 1/2 stick butter, 1 c confectioners' sugar, 3/4 tsp vanilla, and 1 pkg cream cheese. It was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States