Pumpkin Spice Cake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was a moist cake with just the right hint of flavor. I didn't use the frosting though. Instead I used 1 package of cream cheese (8 oz) with a drop of maple flavor and vanilla (butter, confectioners' sugar). The maple went well with the pumpkin spice and the frosting was just enough to cover the cake but not overpower it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This recipe was a huge hit with my family. It is very delicious and extremely easy to make. My only suggestion is to half the recipe for the frosting. We had more than enough to cover the cake and about 2 cups left over! It's a really great autumn dessert and like I said, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This was quite tasty and had just the right amount of spice. Instead of making the frosting homemade, I used store-bought cream cheese frosting and added a bit of cinnamon. Everyone at the office at it, so I'll certainly make it again. I've also done a low-fat variation on this recipe using fat-free egg substitute, applesauce instead of oil, and an orange juice and confectioner's sugar icing--it was also quite good. The only problem I had with this recipe is that when I tried to fold in the pumpkin with the batter, it did not mix well and left little yellow specks in the orange cake. Next time I'll try mixing the pumpkin and oil together first? Not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Great Fall Dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Wow! All, I can say is yum! Brought this to a big get together today and everyone loved it! Got tons of compliments and made me look like I was a first class baker! Thanks for this recipe! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This recipe is outstanding. I made for bible study. I made it just the way the recipe says and I didn't cange a thing. My husband has been talking about it all week. Thanks for this "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
My cake ended up being a little dry. It only took 30 minutes for it to be completely cooked, as opposed to the suggested time of 45 minutes. Other than that, it tasted great and the frosting was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
The cake is very good but the cinnamon cream cheese icing needs more powdered sugar! Be sure to taste it while in the mixer. Next time, I'd add at least 2 1/2 cups, if not more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This pumpkin cake is very delicious! Next to my moms ofcourse:)Darlena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This cake is pretty good, but tasted like a cake mix cake-which isn't bad-just not as great as homemade. Very easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States