Pumpkin Spice Cake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I baked this recipe at the request of someone else. When making the batter, mine was a little thick (used the recipe 2 eggs that were large) but added a 3rd egg. Did not have a 9x13 pan so decided to try a bundt pan which worked just great and looked nice with the icing on it. The cake was taken to a potluck and was gone by the end. Folks that ate it said it was delicious and they really liked it. Some mentioned liking the texture of the cake. I am not an expert baker but thought it was fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Everyone loved this cake. We had an early Thanksgiving dinner last night with out of town family and I made this cake instead of going to the trouble of making just one pumpkin roll. The taste is incredible. Everyone who loves the rolls said they couldn't taste any difference. My boyfriend suggested the next time I make it, to make a layer cake, since he is crazy about the icing. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssheme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grafton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This cake was definitely good, although reduce the baking time if using a glass pan like I did. I think I may have over baked just a bit. It was nice and light after a heavy Thanksgiving meal. I used Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site which really made the dessert. No cake mix taste was apparent. Everybody loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This cake was surprisingly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alisan
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
VERY GOOD cake. so moist and the taste was amazing. I made it for my friend's birthday and it was gobbled up by everyone very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was excellent! I used reduced sugar yellow cake mix and added a small box of sugar free vanilla pudding and about 1/2 cup of water. Otherwise, I followed the recipe (did increase the spices though) and baked it in a bundt pan for 39 mins. After it cooled I drizzled it with a cinnamon glaze (confectioners sugar, half-n-half, cinnamon) My family devoured it! It was moist and flavorful; it didn't taste like a cake mix creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Good, but doesn't really taste like pumpkin. Made a different cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was so easy and everyone LOVED it today at a party I held. They could not belive what is crust was. EASY EASY and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The cake is amazing. Try it with a different cream cheese frosting and you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinydancer2426

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These are my changes that I believe make a Five Star Cake: Add in the 3.4 oz pkg of Vanilla Pudding (omit the vanilla extract). Add one extra egg. 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup water. And, I only use 1 cup of pumpkin puree. (Although using more would probably be great, too - just cut back the oil and water). And, I never measure the spices - I just go nuts (it's a rarity that there's too much spice for me). For the frosting, I use pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States