Pumpkin Spice Cake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This review is just for the cake, as I opted to make a cream cheese glaze from another AR recipe. I had a spice cake mix laying around (don't even remember what I bought it for in the first place) and figured this was a good way to use it. In spite of the spices already in the mix I prepared this recipe as written, including all of the spices. I baked it in a Bundt pan, about 45 minutes. If the aroma as it was baking was any indication of how the cake would taste I knew it was going to be good. And it was! It was moist, of course, as cake mix cakes generally are, pretty nutmeg in color, richly pumpkin and robustly flavored with spices. And no characteristic cake mix taste, which is always a plus for me. I wonder, however, if that would have been the case had I used the yellow cake mix called for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This cake is delicious. However, as much as I like frosting, I found this amount too much for a rectangular cake. Next time I make it, I'm going to cut the frosting in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grain5
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made a Thanksgiving Turkey Cake made out of this recipe. I liked the way the cake tasted. I liked how the frosting mixed good with the flavor of the cake. I made that cake for a work pot luck and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grain5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very Good and the frosting is very yummy. I used a spiced cake mix and it turned out wonderful. Big hit with the family. The frosting is also wonderful on an apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
These turned out excellent. I made cupcakes- baked at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. I used one tablespoon pumpkin spice instead of the spice mix the recipe called for. I also made my own pumpkin puree instead of a canned one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I found this to be amazing. I didn't have yellow cake mix on hand so I used spice cake I only added 1 tsp of cloves and 1 tsp vanilla along with eggs & oil. I also used fresh pumpkin puree. For frosting I used betty crocker cream cheese frosting I added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 c & 1/8 c fresh pumpkun puree. it turned out amazing I even had someone who wasn't fond of pumpkin try it and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
When I started mixing it up I thought it would be more like a sweet bread than a cake, but it turned out very cakey and nice. I added more cinnamon to the frosting. Everyone loved it and I'll definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Heavenly! Only change I made was to double the spices. I made these as cupcakes (ended up with 18) and was a bit concerned because the batter was so dense but they turned out perfectly! Frosted with Cream Cheese Frosting II and added a bit of cinnamon to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is an awesome cake! It is my daughter's favorite - so much that we are using this recipe for her wedding cake, which is in October, so it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Hertel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
As is, I give the cake recipe a 3. At my first attempt, I baked the cake in a 6inch round to see how it would turn out. It was a bit dry and needed a lot more spice to make it more of a pumpkin flavor. After tasting that, I decided it would make better cookies, which it did! They were delicious :) On my second attempt, I added a total of 2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice ( 6 teaspoons), use a mix w/o pudding in the mix and added pumpkin pie flavored pudding mix (found at walmart), 4 eggs (helped solve the dryness), 1/3 cup oil, and 1/4 cup milk. The end result was fantastic. I did not use the icing because the proportions were off, and instead used my own recipe. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States