Pumpkin Spice Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is delicious. I baked it in a bundt pan and added 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and one teaspoon of good quality cinnamon, instead of the ginger/cinnamon mix. Next time I will also add raisins and maybe a few less walnuts. I also added only 2/3 cup of oil and will probably only add no more than 1/2 cup the next time I make it. Pumpkin makes the cake very moist so it definitely doesn't need so much oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I'm generally a terrible cook, but this cake came out wonderfully! I made it in two 9" round pans instead of the 9X13" and it was great. My fiance said it was "killer"!! It keeps well for several days and stays super moist the whole time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Great recipe.. Fooled everyone by thinking it was made from scratch... yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I made this cake for my father-in-law's birthday and it has become a family favorite. The cake is so moist from the pumpkin and the cream cheese frosting is the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This is so delicious and made the entire house so fragrantly scented. It was too large for two of us to consume, so I cut it into four sections and froze the other three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I took another's advice and cut down the oil to 1/2 and substituted 1/2 cup applesause to make up 1 cup. EXTREMELY moist. Next time I may onit oil entirely and use only applesauce. Everyone loved the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Excellent cake - it was a huge hit at my office. Very moist and good, subtle flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I took the advice of other reviewers and only used 1/2 c oil . . . perfect! Anymore would have made it too moist. For spices, I used 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and one teaspoon of cinnamon. I only baked for 35 minutes in a 9X13 pan. This is a great recipe for the fall. It's foolproof and doesn't take long to prepare. I will be making this one for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This was a great recipe for a moist and delicious cake. I used a pinch of nutmeg, 1/2c oil, 1/2c applesauce and splenda instead of sugar. No one could tell the difference. This recipe is definalty a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Delicious. They made nice cupcakes frosted with cream cheese icing. It's true that pumpkin haters will like these. I told my husband that they were spice cupcakes and he loved them and looked surprised when I told him they were pumpkin! I ran out of ginger so I used pumpkin pie spice. Ginger would have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States