Pumpkin Spice Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I'm going to divulge the secret to making this to perfection... ready??? Follow this recipe exactly and DO NOT CHANGE A THING! It is fantastic and super easy too. I did not add any frosting and feel there is no need for it; the cake was moist and delicious without being overly sweet. Also, by using the pumpkin puree you are really getting quite a bit of fiber in your dessert. Great tasting AND somewhat good for you too. This is my new favorite cake. Thanks to doxie1 for submitting this one! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is delicious. I baked it in a bundt pan and added 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and one teaspoon of good quality cinnamon, instead of the ginger/cinnamon mix. Next time I will also add raisins and maybe a few less walnuts. I also added only 2/3 cup of oil and will probably only add no more than 1/2 cup the next time I make it. Pumpkin makes the cake very moist so it definitely doesn't need so much oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
What a great spice cake recipe. I made it just as directed, only added a couple more shakes of cinnamon and a couple shakes of nutmeg. It could be a little spicier, but I made for guests so I think it's perfect for the occasion. Made in a bundt pan, baked for about 45 minutes. Frosted with homemade cream cheese icing...pulled out a little frosting and put green food coloring in it. Put orange food coloring in the rest of the icing, then spread the orange icing all over the cake. Put an edible ice-cream cup (that kids eat ice-cream out of) in the hole of the bundt cake and frosted that green. Piped some green stripes down the side and 'voila!!!! Made a literal pumpkin cake that looks like one too!!! Had just enough batter left over to make a couple of mini-loaves and that's what I just ate...it is awesome. I saw where some reviewers messed with the amount of oil but I think it's perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I'm generally a terrible cook, but this cake came out wonderfully! I made it in two 9" round pans instead of the 9X13" and it was great. My fiance said it was "killer"!! It keeps well for several days and stays super moist the whole time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Given that many GREAT pumpkin bread recipes call for a can of pumpkin, 4 eggs and 1 cup of oil, unlike most other reviewers of this recipe I did not reduce the amount of oil. I prepared it as written, with one cup oil and was quite pleased with the delicious result. I did, however, make a few other minor modifications. First, I used a French Vanilla cake mix which I always prefer over yellow any day of the week - it has less of that artificial cake mix taste yellow cake mixes are so notorious for. I added a teaspoon of vanilla, again to camouflage that tell-tale cake mix taste and, rather than the spices called for, I used a "one serving" recipe of "Pumpkin Pie Spice I," recipe also from this site. I confess I don't know what the baking soda was for - I did add it, but I'm sure the cake would not have been compromised without it. I added 1/2 cup of raisins to the batter, but not the pecans. I baked it in a Bundt pan at 350 degrees, about 55 minutes. When cool, I glazed it with a cream cheese glaze: 4 ozs. cream cheese, 1/2 c. powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla and 3 T. half-and-half. Finally, to pretty it up a bit, I sprinkled it with chopped pecans. This is a beautiful and nicely spiced pumpkin cake, made easy and quite satisfactorily with a humble cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I took another's advice and cut down the oil to 1/2 and substituted 1/2 cup applesause to make up 1 cup. EXTREMELY moist. Next time I may onit oil entirely and use only applesauce. Everyone loved the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe was great! I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I used a moist supreme cake mix, substituted chopped apples for the nuts, and added a bit of clover. I made miniature bundt cakes and used cream cheese frosting. I will make them again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
THIS IS THE BEST PUMPKIN CAKE!! My search has ended for a good pumpkin cake recipe. My mom was craving something pumpkin so instead of making pumpkin bread i chose this recipe. This is so moist and deeeelicious! I only used 3/4 c. of oil and i added 1 tsp. of nutmeg to the spices and also added 1 c. of raisins. Watch your oven b/c my cake was done in about 35 minutes for a 13x9. I frosted with cream cheese frosting but i know it is as delicious without icing b/c i have had to make this twice already in 3 days (and it is June!). This was gone in a matter of minutes everyone simply devoured it. Everyone i have made this for simply LOVES this cake. I will not wait til Thanksgiving to make pumpkin cake again. Thank you Beverly =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOUIE75
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
VERY moist. I did decrease the oil to 1/2 cup. My cupcake liners were fairly greasy even still so I image that adding the full cup would just be too oily. I also added nutmeg and allspice with the cinnamon and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Fisher
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is so good it was almost kind of silly. Wow. I made it exactly as written except I beat the batter by hand and baked it in a mini loaf pan. It made four lovely little loaves when cooked at 375 degrees for 35 minutes. I will be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States