Pumpkin Spice Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I'm generally a terrible cook, but this cake came out wonderfully! I made it in two 9" round pans instead of the 9X13" and it was great. My fiance said it was "killer"!! It keeps well for several days and stays super moist the whole time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is delicious. I baked it in a bundt pan and added 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and one teaspoon of good quality cinnamon, instead of the ginger/cinnamon mix. Next time I will also add raisins and maybe a few less walnuts. I also added only 2/3 cup of oil and will probably only add no more than 1/2 cup the next time I make it. Pumpkin makes the cake very moist so it definitely doesn't need so much oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Excellent cake - it was a huge hit at my office. Very moist and good, subtle flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I took another's advice and cut down the oil to 1/2 and substituted 1/2 cup applesause to make up 1 cup. EXTREMELY moist. Next time I may onit oil entirely and use only applesauce. Everyone loved the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I made this cake last month for my Dad's birtday! It was yummy! To make it a little heart healthier for him and my mom I substituted applesauce for the oil and used 5 (I think) egg whites and one whole egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATT103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
THIS WAS A HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
THIS IS THE BEST PUMPKIN CAKE!! My search has ended for a good pumpkin cake recipe. My mom was craving something pumpkin so instead of making pumpkin bread i chose this recipe. This is so moist and deeeelicious! I only used 3/4 c. of oil and i added 1 tsp. of nutmeg to the spices and also added 1 c. of raisins. Watch your oven b/c my cake was done in about 35 minutes for a 13x9. I frosted with cream cheese frosting but i know it is as delicious without icing b/c i have had to make this twice already in 3 days (and it is June!). This was gone in a matter of minutes everyone simply devoured it. Everyone i have made this for simply LOVES this cake. I will not wait til Thanksgiving to make pumpkin cake again. Thank you Beverly =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Very easy and delicious! I also made cream cheese frosting (recipe from this site) to go with it and it was great! Definitley will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Great recipe.. Fooled everyone by thinking it was made from scratch... yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I made this cake for my father-in-law's birthday and it has become a family favorite. The cake is so moist from the pumpkin and the cream cheese frosting is the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States