Pumpkin Spice Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This cake is so moist and delicious! I have made it several times, and it is always such a hit! I only use 1/2 cup of oil, and then either another 1/2 cup of pumpkin or a 1/2 cup of applesauce, and it always turns out amazing! We serve it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Hands down the best cake ever!!! Followed others advice and used half the oil called for and replaced the rest with cinnamon applesauce. Added extra spices, and replaced the pecans with apples. I served this at a bday party and the look on peoples faces said it all. Will make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This recipe was excellent...I am not a baker, love to cook gourmet, etc., and never follow a recipe, accept in baking. Found a Halloween cake mix that was orange and had cocoa swirls in it, I was looking for a cake with pumpkin in it so it was the perfect Holiday treat. Topped it with cream cheese frosting, chocolate sprinkles and orange sugar crystals..the chocolate sprinkles melted into the cream cheese frosting that looked like chocolate swirls on top. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Delicious and very easy. Took the advice of fellow reviewers and substituted 1/2 cup apple sauce for oil and added in a few sprinkles of pumpkin pie spice and ground nutmeg. Came out beautifully. Also only baked for about 35 min instead of the 45 min listed in directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this recipe and it was delicious! Instead of yellow cake mix, use Spice cake mix and you can omit cinnamon, ginger unless you like it really spicey. Very good with coffee or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
this was and AMAZING cake! It rose very high, was beautifully moist. I subbed 3 tsp pumpkin pie spice + 1 tsp cinnamon for the cinnamon/ginger and used 1/2 cup applesacue and NO oil. Turned out fantastic. Going to try making mini loaves next !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I'm going to divulge the secret to making this to perfection... ready??? Follow this recipe exactly and DO NOT CHANGE A THING! It is fantastic and super easy too. I did not add any frosting and feel there is no need for it; the cake was moist and delicious without being overly sweet. Also, by using the pumpkin puree you are really getting quite a bit of fiber in your dessert. Great tasting AND somewhat good for you too. This is my new favorite cake. Thanks to doxie1 for submitting this one! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Awesome! I did make a few tiny changes. I didn't have enough pumpkin leftover so I used some pureed squash that I had. I also replaced half the oil with some fruit baby food and agave nectar with the sugar. I also added a touch more spice. I didn't have any frosting either so I made up a streusal topping with butter, brown sugar and oats. Turned out very moist and delicious!! I loved how it got white patches from the lumps of cake mix too....very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Kate Fisher
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is so good it was almost kind of silly. Wow. I made it exactly as written except I beat the batter by hand and baked it in a mini loaf pan. It made four lovely little loaves when cooked at 375 degrees for 35 minutes. I will be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Made this on thursday and served it on saturday at work for a birthday,, OMG,, this was like a loaf of pumpkin pie, absolutly wonderful, I did doulbel the recipe so i could make a large bundt pan, also i added 1tsp grd cloves, 1tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp allspice, topped with cream cheese frosting, also i live in az. so i always cover my cake very quickly after they come out of the oven and get them in the fridge as quickly as possible, this keeps them very moist so they don't get to dry in our low humidity. will be making this again and again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States