Pumpkin Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was my first attempt at making a pumpkin cake and it was delicious. I will definitely be using this one in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This is an EXCELLENT cake. We baked it (in a bundt pan) for Hallowe'en. Decorated it with orange coloured cream cheese icing.Then crafted a stem and leaves from craft paper. It looked just like a real pumpkin. It was delicious and a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This recipe has been revised to include "2 eggs, beaten" in the list of ingredients. The eggs are creamed together with the shortening and other ingredients in Step 2 of the directions. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This spice cake was great, it was moist and it tasted excellent. I also added some powdered cloves, which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Delicious! Everyone loved this! Even those who aren't crazy about pumpkin! Very moist and great flavor! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Great recipe! It was easy to make and turned out great. Even my picky 9 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very moist and flavorful cake. I did sub 1/4 cup applesauce for 1/4 of the shortening. I also used a cup of whole wheat flour, which I normally do in recipes. I was surprised that someone said this cake was bland. Perhaps their spices are outdated. With the pumpkin and spices, it's hardly lacking in flavor. I didn't frost the cake, but I did add a glaze on top. It doesn't really need much since it is a very tasty cake as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I divided it into a 3-layer cake, frosted it with a cream cheese frosting, and sprinkled some mashed up cinnamon graham crackers on top. It was an absolute smash! I did only bake it for about 25 minutes, though. Not sure where the 60-65 minutes comes from. Would have burned it if I'd cooked it that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made this cake for Thanksgiving. It was wonderful. Everyone loved it. I made the cream cheese frosting to go along with it. I do, however, have a complaint. It would be helpful for others if the frosting recipe was included as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a simple cake and if you get the pumkin with the spices already in it, it is easier yet since you don't have to add much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott and Erin

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States