Pumpkin Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This recipe has been revised to include "2 eggs, beaten" in the list of ingredients. The eggs are creamed together with the shortening and other ingredients in Step 2 of the directions. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It seems to be a blur in distinguishing a muffin/quick bread from a cake/cupcake and I suppose you could call this one either. To me, what it now boils down to is this: if it's plain, it's a bread or muffin, if you frost it, it's cake. So I made this CAKE into cupcakes, baking them at 350 degrees for about 22 minutes. I frosted them with "Maple Icing," also from this site. And they were perfect - pretty, moist, delicious and spiced very similarly to a pumpkin pie. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very moist and flavorful cake. I did sub 1/4 cup applesauce for 1/4 of the shortening. I also used a cup of whole wheat flour, which I normally do in recipes. I was surprised that someone said this cake was bland. Perhaps their spices are outdated. With the pumpkin and spices, it's hardly lacking in flavor. I didn't frost the cake, but I did add a glaze on top. It doesn't really need much since it is a very tasty cake as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This is an EXCELLENT cake. We baked it (in a bundt pan) for Hallowe'en. Decorated it with orange coloured cream cheese icing.Then crafted a stem and leaves from craft paper. It looked just like a real pumpkin. It was delicious and a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I made this cake for Thanksgiving. It was wonderful. Everyone loved it. I made the cream cheese frosting to go along with it. I do, however, have a complaint. It would be helpful for others if the frosting recipe was included as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I've made this cake four times and it has been a big hit each time! Slight revisions: I use butter, add 1 tsp of vanilla, cut down the sugar to about 1 c white and 3/4 c brown. I used pumpkin pie spice in place of all the other spices when I ran out of ginger. I've made it twice with a cream cheese filling (blending together 8 oz cream cheese, 1 egg, and 1/4 sugar)-- Put about half of the batter into the bundt pan, pour in the cream cheese filling evenly on top of that, top with remaining cake batter, bake for an hour. Cool and dust generously with powdered sugar. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I divided it into a 3-layer cake, frosted it with a cream cheese frosting, and sprinkled some mashed up cinnamon graham crackers on top. It was an absolute smash! I did only bake it for about 25 minutes, though. Not sure where the 60-65 minutes comes from. Would have burned it if I'd cooked it that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Some have complained about this cake being dry - better to substitute half butter for the shortening which also gives a richer flavor. Great keeping cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
it was really tasty - but dry. I made cupcakes and the tops came apart from the bottoms when removing from the pans. still in search of my pumpkin spice cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P24FERGUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I added 1 tsp baking powder, chopped dates and a half tsp of ground clove. Awesome! Eats great with vanilla ice cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States