Pumpkin Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I've made this cake four times and it has been a big hit each time! Slight revisions: I use butter, add 1 tsp of vanilla, cut down the sugar to about 1 c white and 3/4 c brown. I used pumpkin pie spice in place of all the other spices when I ran out of ginger. I've made it twice with a cream cheese filling (blending together 8 oz cream cheese, 1 egg, and 1/4 sugar)-- Put about half of the batter into the bundt pan, pour in the cream cheese filling evenly on top of that, top with remaining cake batter, bake for an hour. Cool and dust generously with powdered sugar. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Turned out beautifully. Instead of shortening I used three mashed overripe bananas. Note that the initial mix will NOT get fluffy, just mix until well combined. Makes a nice thick spicy cake, great with a bold coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Some have complained about this cake being dry - better to substitute half butter for the shortening which also gives a richer flavor. Great keeping cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
it was really tasty - but dry. I made cupcakes and the tops came apart from the bottoms when removing from the pans. still in search of my pumpkin spice cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P24FERGUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I added 1 tsp baking powder, chopped dates and a half tsp of ground clove. Awesome! Eats great with vanilla ice cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was very dry. Great texture tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colormekaylee
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These were VERY good. Everyone loved them. I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin, but I think these were prefect. Reminded me a lot of bananna bread. Instead of using a bundt pan, I cut the recipie in half and made 12 miniture ones. Perfect for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colormekaylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It seems to be a blur in distinguishing a muffin/quick bread from a cake/cupcake and I suppose you could call this one either. To me, what it now boils down to is this: if it's plain, it's a bread or muffin, if you frost it, it's cake. So I made this CAKE into cupcakes, baking them at 350 degrees for about 22 minutes. I frosted them with "Maple Icing," also from this site. And they were perfect - pretty, moist, delicious and spiced very similarly to a pumpkin pie. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I changed the recipe slightly: 1 c shortening 2 1/4 c squash puree no pecans Baked in 9" x 13" pan for 1 hour. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a simple cake and if you get the pumkin with the spices already in it, it is easier yet since you don't have to add much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott and Erin

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States